Queer Eye Review - A refreshing, feel-good show with a positive message

tmp_pZyo3A_6d5400bbac4a579a_QESI-GB_POP-GROUP_3859R_1_.jpg

While browsing around the what's trending tab on Netflix the other day, I noticed that there was a new Netflix original called Queer Eye. Turns out that Netflix did a soft-reboot of the series with a new cast and took off the tagline "For the Straight Guy". Now, I'm not one to watch these kinds of shows regularly, but I did catch a few episodes of the original as a kid when my older sister was watching it. It's one of those "feel good" shows that I tend to skip, but for some reason I started the new series and finished it earlier today.

With eight episodes, all taking place in Georgia, Queer Eye follows the "Fab 5" as they help men realize that taking care of their physical appearance, living arrangements, eating habits and mental health isn't something limited to overtly effeminate people. The reason why the original name was tweaked to just Queer Eye, is because this time it's not just limited to straight men without fashion sense, but open to the broad spectrum of sexual orientations out there in the modern day.

The show has a good message in every episode and shows how even just the bare minimum of effort in changing the way you look and think of yourself can make a huge impact on someone's self-esteem and self-worth. Some episodes even have a semi-political undertone to them, such as the police brutality seen against black men in America and the hard opposition of the church and religion as a whole to homosexuality. It's not overtly preachy and while it may bother some, it was done in a tasteful manner.

With the whole season taking place in the culturally diverse state of Georgia, the Queer Eye cast visits men from all walks of life, from pasty nerds, urban black guys and even overtly southern white guys. This makes each episode feel different and not cookie-cutter which made each episode engaging and feel worthwhile to view. The aspect of the show I enjoyed the most was the house renovations, each makeover felt like a major overhaul in both atmosphere and appearance. It definitely left me with ideas on how to improve my living space, which is something I didn't think I'd take away from the show.

Although some of the "Fab 5" come off as a tad too flamboyant, simply for the sake of being flamboyant, it didn't impede my enjoyment of the show and cast. I went in without expectations and an open mind and came out a fan of the series, surprisingly. If you're in the mood for some feel-good television that's a mix of men's fashion and home improvement, I can easily recommend to put Queer Eye on your "to watch" list.


Squidkid2.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now