Quentin Tarantino - The angel of hell #1

“I didn’t go to film school, I went to films” this the one sentence I heard from one of the interviews of Quentin Tarantino which erased the idea of going to film school from my mind. My first Tarantino movie was “Django Unchained”, I didn’t know anything about Tarantino and I didn’t even see the name of the director for some reason, but I loved the film. The next movie I watched was “Inglorious Bastards”, I could feel emotions I felt when I was watching the previous film. Both the films are very different from each other, but it felt like they both were made by the same person. I went back and checked who the director was of both of the films and it was Quentin Tarantino. Very less number of filmmakers can be identified just by watching their films. The style plays an important role here. 

 

What made Quentin Tarantino the talk of the town is his non-linear screenplay and the unpredictable storytelling. The best example is his “Pulp Fiction”, every single scene has so many twists and turn, but keeps us all engaged throughout. “Pulp Fiction” is also known for its witty and content heavy dialogues. His dialogues are like songs, it feels good to listen to it, but it is not completely dramatic. There’s realism in it. Dialogues are one of the most important elements of story, it could be film, books or a play. But, if the dialogues were written like normal talk like we have in our life it will look flat. Even though people didn’t use rhymes when talked, all the Shakespeare’s plays use rhymes to make it sound more interesting. Tarantino’s dialogues are a perfect balance between the drama and reality. 

      

The use of high amount of blood violence in his movies comes from his love for Asian films. He was inspired by the Japanese samurai films, which can be seen in his “Kill Bill” series. “Kill Bill” shows us the love Tarantino has for cinema. It has everything in it, the fight scenes like in good action flicks, animation sequences, great dialogues, love, humor and the list goes on. "Kill Bill" is like a case-study on different types of action films that existed till that point. 

What fascinates me the most is, how Tarantino's movies match with his personality. If you have seen any of his interviews you'll definitely be convinced that this is the person who made "Reservoir Dogs" or "Pulp Fiction". Its like the art and the artist are both the same. His childlike fascination towards this art form is very infectious, whenever I hear him talk in an interview or a speech, I will be totally involved.

             

This is the end of the first part of "The Angel of hell". Keep me followed to catch the second part. Thank you for reading this post.

                                   Follow me @nandan   

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now