RE: RE: Hours of a (television/film/media) Crew Member
You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hours of a (television/film/media) Crew Member

RE: Hours of a (television/film/media) Crew Member

I really appreciate what you are saying @pocketchange. I've written a few other articles on steemit about how much I enjoy my job and how there are definitely many perks that we are afforded, so on one hand, I absolutely agree with you! Some of my most favorite things about working in this industry are the people and the fact that each job is different than the last. However, I also feel very strongly that production - specifically production assistants - have hours and wages that can be absolutely ridiculous. And I'd also like to point out that the spoiled things that make the crews have fun times like you have pointed out above are all there because part of production's job is to make sure the rest of the crew is happy (not to mention that when anything goes wrong they have to be there with multiple different ways to make it right). I've said it before and I will say it again, the mark of a really good production team is to not even notice that they are there and doing anything. There is so much that goes on behind the behind the scenes that some crew members either aren't aware of or have forgotten. And unions are great when they do what they are meant to do, but having worked with them closely for many years I can also say with certainty that they can also cause their fair share of problems. And the production assistants are very rarely able to be unionized and while there are some production jobs that are union there are tons of ways to get around having to be a union member and be on the job. I appreciate your points about the good sides of production (and I agree with them!) but there hours are definitely a major negative for a lot of us. Thanks for reading and supporting my post. I look forward to hearing more of your opinions on this and other posts! :)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center