Fifty word story: dreams and nightmares and dental floss

Scalpel

"I'm at a mirror, I brush my teeth, and I have this oversized dental floss."

"I try anyway. I jam cord between my teeth. Gums bleeding, tears flowing, I'm compelled to continue."

"What's it mean, doc?"

"Find a psychiatrist? Open up!"

He lifts an oversized scalpel.

I can't wake up.


This story was different from my last #fiftywords entry. I actually took my freewrite from @mariannewest's daily freewrites, for which today's prompt was I Floss my Tears and carefully pared it down until I was left with only the essential bits.

If you like to see my previous #fiftywords effort:

Or other Flash Fiction:

If you want something a little more substantial, check out my bulkier, on-going Sorcery works, they could use some more attention:

Sorcery Teaser | Sorcery - 01 | Sorcery - 02 | Sorcery - 03 | Sorcery - 04 | Sorcery - 05 | Sorcery - 06 | Sorcery - 07 | Sorcery - 08 | Sorcery - 09 | Sorcery - 10 | Sorcery - 11 | Sorcery - 12 | Sorcery - 13

"Artwork" is my own.

~~ Thanks for Reading ~~

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center