The Worm - Flash Fiction

wax-worm-911591_1920.jpg
Image by skeeze from Pixabay



"Will the defendant please rise."

I stare at those quivering hairs sprouting from his nostrils like a spider trying to escape the plughole. I smirk, stroking my moustache. The court appointed ape grabs me by the arm, yanking me to my feet. This can only go one way.

"Are the jury ready to deliver the verdict?"

"We are your honor."

Worm Page Break.jpg

Goo cradles my body as I wriggle through the gelatinous mass. A pulse of electricity courses through my boneless body.

Food for thought!

The pulse brings an impulse, an intention to fly mentally from this prison of grey matter. I squirm at the realization that it's time to explore another mental landscape.

Worm Page Break.jpg

Trees bleed into night, fingers clawing the sky. I stare through the window while it happens. I cry and life flows out of me in a sickly lessening.

A man with a moustache appears out of nowhere, spade-like fists pummeling father until he withdraws and lies naked in his own blood. I stare up through the swaying treacle of the dream's embrace.

"Thank you... I am forever in your debt."

Worm Page Break.jpg

I wriggle through each of their minds finding the hidden nuggets of pain. Latching on and laying my eggs, making a hero of my host. I give them what they need most, resolution.

Worm Page Break.jpg

"What is the verdict of the court?"

The young woman stares at me with tears in her eyes, nodding imperceptibly in thanks.

"Not guilty your honor."

The end.

Copyrightbanner.png

This post is in response to @felt.buzz ZapFic contest which challenges the writer to make a flash fiction in 240 words with a prompt word (defendant). You can check out the competition post here. If you would like to read more of my fiction, please check out the links below to find stories both long and short.

Forbidden Fruit

The Gelded One

The Duties of a Court Wizard

The Blazing Heart of Danko

In the Lap of the Gods

Divine Intervention

Astral Echoes

The Madness of the Gods

Life Will Out

The Dream of Life

The Diary of a Wizard

All images used in this post are creative commons licence, source linked below image. If you have enjoyed reading this short fiction, please take a look at my homepage @raj808 for more of the same. Thank you.

Footer_raj808.png

banner.png

PHC-Footer-05.gif

natural medicine.gif

banner-divisorio_2.jpg

IOW_WM_BLACK.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
14 Comments
Ecency