Barefoot Festival 2016.

I’ve got festival blues.

Last weekend I visited the magical land of Barefoot Festival! Set in the sun (and rain!) kissed fields of Preswold Hall in Loughborough, Barefoot is a grass-roots community gathering where all profits go back into improving the event.

It’s a safe space for creative souls to express themselves. The festival is a mix of music, art workshops, circus skills workshops, more types of yoga than you ever knew existed, spaces to chill, amazing fire performance and cabaret. As you can tell this isn't your run of the mill ‘get wasted, dance, pass out’ festival, although I there’s a huge place in my heart for that too.

Barefoot has a real friendly, relaxed vibe where you can bring your children, and get a little wild if you want to as well. I was lucky enough to perform at ‘Talulah’s Burlesque Extravaganza’ on Saturday night, which was a gorgeous mix of burlesque, circus and dance performers. And meant I got in for free, with a swanky performer wristband. My act was a mix of hula hoop flow art, fire breathing (first time doing that indoors!) and fire hoop.

It's Me! ^

As ever, being backstage and meeting the rest of the amazing, talented performers was wonderful. Being in the presence of such a variety of talent was inspirational. The rest of the show was immense. There was unicycling, more fire, beautiful burlesque, boylesque and the highlight for me was a male/female double act by talented UK based performer Talulah Blue and boylesque performer Russell Bruner.

AND, I got to help with an absolutely fantastic interdisciplinary event called 'Fried Rice Jam' which I'll devote a separate blog to, because it was so awesome.

Until next time Steemit, stay sparkling and free.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now