Ms Miss Mrs and Mr. Why do females only get a mature title when they marry?

My younger brother is already a Mr. It's on his bank card and driving licence. Although passports don't use titles it is common-place that a female is a Miss until she gets married. But my brother and all the other young men I know are already Mr's just by being a male. 'Master' should be the young term for a male but it's never used.

My bank card and Licence are titled Miss, but I am 21. If I want an official mature title the only option seems to be Mrs but why do I need to get married for that? Mr is given automatically. My bank does not ask me whether I want to be titled Miss, or the age-fluid title, Ms, they just assume I'm a miss because I'm not married. As if I am only a woman when I get married otherwise I'm not mature enough.

To change my title to Ms on my bank or Licence I need to fill out a whole name changing form.

I want to make a change in the world so that institutions will offer and recognise Ms automatically so females don't feel degraded.

If you are an unmarried woman reading this I encourage you to consider changing you title from Miss to Ms to make a stand against these marital titles.

Image from Google

lady.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center