Feathered Friday ~ The Eagle Has Landed

It's Spring, and the Bald Eagles have returned to the park!

Oh boy, did I get some cool shots today in Beacon Hill Park. I had a lot of fun photographing ducks, geese, crows, and peacocks... but best of all, there is now a Bald Eagle pair in the nest in the middle of the park!

If you love photographing birds as much as I do, I just know you have some great photos of your own to share. To participate in #FeatheredFriday and receive an upvote & resteem, please follow these simple steps:

  • Make your own post and use the tag #featheredfriday
  • Comment below with a link to your post - This will get you a lot of extra exposure from the other participants. If you don't do this, I may accidentally miss your post because Feathered Friday is starting to get busy.
  • Consider using the #birding tag in order to connect to a wider community of bird fans.

Let me show you what I saw today!

All photos taken by me with a Nikon D750 and a Tamron 150-600mm lens.

8rahqxzaco.jpg

There has been a large Bald Eagle's (Haliaeetus leucocephalus) nest in the park for years. Last week it was empty. Now look who's back in town! A long-standing local legend claims that the Park staff cleans dozens of dog and cat collars out of the nest every year. I don't know if it's true.

38d3ouwq3h.jpg

Below: a slide show of one of the eagle pair approaching and landing in the nest. This is 18 sequential shots.

li04dvrkhi.gif

Now let me show you some of the other birds I photographed today...

Female American Wigeon (Anas americana)
fyzqi3skdy.jpg

Peacock - a male Peafowl
sufqlzrtuq.jpg

The Peacock was really shaking his stuff... Above and below we see the Peacock strutting around in a circle.

cnst2cp0mp.jpg

Below: the Peahen seems unimpressed...

Peahen - a female Peafowl
jb1qdgiwpj.jpg

Female Mallard Duck (Anas platyrhynchos)
lqenr26mw4.jpg

Male Mallard Duck (Anas platyrhynchos)
jl8cz40qay.jpg

Canadian Geese (Branta canadensis)
3tmfxydgcw.jpg

Northwestern Crow (Corvus caurinus)
0kijpwmgr9.jpg


That's what I have to show you today. Now let's see you birds! Don't forget to leave your link in the comments for other people to find.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now