Fearing the Fog

My drive to work is about 50 minutes each way. Although I do not to particularly enjoy the trip, it gives me a lot of time to think, reflect, and work on post ideas for my Steemit blog.

Over the last few weeks during my commute, I have encountered a formidable foe - FOG. A small patch of fog is not bad, but extended periods of fog can be very dangerous.

Fog (noun): a hazy, cloudy layer of water vapor very that hovers close to the ground. (source)

forest-547363_640.jpg

Like Driving With Eyes Half Closed

A few weeks ago, I was on my way to work when I drove into a very dense patch of fog. Visibility was extremely limited. And as best as I remember I spent more than 20 minutes driving through the fog.

I felt like I was driving with my eyes half closed. I had to strain to see. A commute that I do not particularly enjoy become something that I hated. I felt like I was immersed in a thick, consuming blanket with no way out.

That's how life is sometimes (at least in my experience). I sometimes face obstacles and challenges that seem to engulf me. In those moments I find it difficult to see clearly, breath deeply, and move freely.

Fearing The Fog


Let's fast forward to this morning. The traffic was heavy as I attempted to pull onto the highway which gave me plenty of time to see dense fog both to my left and to my right. I was in a clear spot. I was safe, but my thoughts ran back to a few weeks ago.

My mind was racing with questions.

  • Will I be able to see?
  • Will I feel claustrophobic?
  • Can I drive safely?
  • Will other people be able to drive safely?
  • How long will the fog last?

There was a brief moment that I thought about returning home and not making the drive. It was only a brief moment, but my fear of the fog almost changed the actions I would take today.

Why Do We Fear The Fog?

In a literal sense, fog is a hazy layer of water vapor that stays close to the ground. But for me, the idea of fog can represent a myriad of challenges and obstacles.

Fog limits what you can see.


Fog blocks what we see and how we see it. Fog may not fully restrict your line of sight, but it will hinder it. There are challenges we face on a daily basis that do the same thing.

One of the first things that happen when I face a difficult obstacle is that I lose perspective. I try to view life from both a long-term perspective and short-term perspective. I want to be thinking about the future. I want to dream big. But I also want to make sure that I am attending to matters that are important today. I want to make sure that I am focusing on people that are important to me.

But when the **"fog" sets in, I only focus on the things right in front of me. The fog causes me to view life through a negative filter. It amazes me how the challenges of life quickly change the way I look at the world.

Fog slows you down.

Obstacles slow us down. They impair the speed at which we deal with simple, everyday tasks. We can either be frustrated with "fog" and give up (like I tried to do), or we can take a slow, methodical approach to the challenges we are facing.

Slowing down is not necessary a bad thing. But many of us hate having to slow down. We love to be busy. Maybe the obstacle you are facing is an opportunity to slow down and recalibrate. Maybe the "fog" is a chance to re-evaluate your life, goals, and priorities.

You may need to slow down but never stop. Never give up!

Fog creates disorientation.

The obstacles we face have an impact on how we live and think. When we are constantly bombarded with battles, our minds do not think clearly. We need to acknowledge that our decision-making skills and reactions/responses are impacted by the challenges we face.

Disorientation resulting from the battles is normal. It happens to everyone. So it is better to acknowledge it instead of denying it.

Call for help when you feel disorientated. Let someone else support you and give you a new perspective. Give yourself time to find your way.

Fog increases the likelihood of collisions.

When we face the "fog" we tend to stumble into more obstacles. Murphy's Law is the idea that "whatever can go wrong, will go wrong." (source)

That is how I feel when I am in a fog. And when I feel that way, I tend to create a self-fulfilling prophecy of sorts. Watch out for objects that are moving around in the fog. Not only are challenges lurking in the fog, but there are also other people moving around as well.

Even when it is hard to see, even when you feel discouraged, take steps to prevent causalities. Staying alert, slowing down, and watching for opportunities decreases the number of collisions that take place.

Final Thoughts

We can't avoid the fog. At some point in time, it will slow us down and create difficulties. How we choose to respond to the fog is totally up to us. Will you let it stop you? I hope not.

I want to hear from you. Feel free to answer any or all of these questions in the comment section below.

  1. Have you ever driven in the fog?
  2. What is an obstacle or challenge you are facing right now?
  3. Is it slowing you down or has it made you completely stop?
  4. How are you overcoming the challenge you are facing?

Thanks for stopping by!

@SumatraNate


Image Source: https://pixabay.com/en/forest-fog-nature-winter-trees-547363/

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center