There's a business! We have a business!

About 10months ago, I started a business called Afrocentric Designs with a very close friend of mine. So far its been good and we appreciate all the ups and downs we have had to overcome.

How the business started: Afrocentric Designs

On Jan 2, 2017, my close friend and I took a trip to visit both Cameroon and Nigeria. I am Cameroonian and she is Nigerian and we thought it would be a great idea to visit both countries while we decided on taking the trip. It was an amazing experience and we definitely became closer. We learned so much from each other's culture, history and food as well as fashion. One day while we were in Cameroon, I went to the market to buy fabrics to sew swimming suits for my friends back at home with some African Ankara Fabrics. I picked out the colors and sent to my friends to send me the designs they would like me to use with the fabric. However, I noticed we were running out of time in Cameroon and figured I will start the sewing in Nigeria. !IMG_0285.JPG

However, when we went to Nigeria, prior to leaving the tailor has not finished all the cloths we gave when we first stepped foot in Lagos, Nigeria. I was a little furious but I knew I had no time to be upset and I needed to think fast. As a resulted, as my friend was fitting her off shoulder dress, i asked the tailor to do use my materials for all off shoulders tops along with chokers. He completed the request within two days and I was satisfied.

Once we returned to America, I gave my friends what was made and they loved it. Some faced time wearing it and others called to thank me again. Long story short, for our spring break trip to Puerto I told everyone to bring their top with them. While we were on the trip, we all wore it and everybody we crossed path with that day, loved it. My friends were taking selfies and posting it on their social media, and they got lots of people asking where they go their tops. From there, I knew there was a business. I told them, guys! We have a business, there's a business ! You guys will be my models. They supported the idea. IMG_2189.JPG
IMG_2300.JPG
IMG_2272.JPGIMG_2353.JPGIMG_2346.JPGIMG_2239.JPG

Immediately after arriving back to the States, I called the tailor in Nigeria and requested more orders of the same top. I told one of my friends about the cost and how much I was going to do, she was interested and wanted in. I told her she was welcome to join and thats how we came business partners.IMG_2118.JPG
This was in Puerto Rico!

Since then, we have traveled back to Nigeria twice and later added Ghana as one of the countries we handpick our fabrics.IMG_9229.JPG! We handpicked and made this fabric in Ghana as one of our 2018 designsIMG_9248.JPGIMG_9342.JPGIMG_9395.JPGbbb.JPG
IMG_9019.JPGIMG_9015.JPG

You can check it out at: www.afrocentricdesigns.com or via email afrocentricdesigns2017@gmail.com

Thank you for reading our journey and feedbacks are greatly appreciated !

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center