There's nothing like Handmade Items. Made with Love

hiking.png

Oh, sweet memories.
I remember my mom sewing clothes for my brothers and sister and sometimes our outfits would match the curtains or seat cushions for my desk due to her using what fabric she had left over.
She attended Fashion Technical High School and FIT as a pattern maker and worked briefly at a children's clothing brand before becoming a housewife.

Her creative "jean" was passed down to me, and as a youth I excelled in home economic classes and art.
Throughout adulthood I respected the handmade craft people, find paper-making and mixed medium art my creative outlet.

I was reminded and inspired by @oladayoamusan in his post about creating shirts and things from his own hands, that to do things creatively and to help yourself and community is so satisfying and rewarding.

I was bitten by the creative bug this past Christmas when I created two-person sweater for a popular FB channel.
Screen Shot 2018-02-27 at 2.59.37 PM.png

Screen Shot 2018-02-27 at 3.06.25 PM.png
and a Wine Holder sweater. Funny right?

It was fun making the sweaters and using the sewing machine again. As I was using the sewing machine it made me concentrate on making the item, so my mind wasn't on me and my problems it was to do a good job for the video and others.

I still have a sewing machine at my disposal so I do feel being on Steemit I can have opportunities to dip into my creative pool.

Thanks to Steemit for hosting so many talented people and supporting their visions.

Dijital Kowboy

Over and Out!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now