Dinner FAIL : To Much Ground Flax Seed

I was so looking forward to eating chicken soup, not snot soup!
1723FD64-45BB-4182-A02F-E1E8B90000BC.jpeg
Okay so my bright idea was to thicken up my chicken soup with ground flax seed. It’s healthy for you after all. Well after I dumped about a cup in and stired it, the little voice in my head is saying, “you do remember it is used as an egg substitute right?” I just shrugged my shoulders and said well “it’s to late now, how bad could it be?”

The consistency was gag worthy. Like when you are a kid with massive snot rockets that launch into your mouth when your body does the whip lash.
7F5C53D8-7BBF-40D7-B4FD-6D7326A01A31.jpeg
It was like trying to eat fresh egg whites, or an aloe vera health shake(yes it’s a thing).
AC7456B2-5B64-4178-B539-C9B9EA411276.jpeg
It was extremely difficult to eat. I had to dump a ton of salt and eat large chunks of noodles and meat to get it down. But the snot was inside the freaking noodles! So when you bit them it gooed out!

But man, god’s help you if you got a chunk of the slime. Wow that was a different kind of funk! There is no way I could drink the broth. 🤢

Please note DO NOT use ground flax seed as a thickening agent!

I will be feeding this to the dogs. There is no way I could eat anymore. I am NOT a picky eater, but the consistency was off the chart BAD!!!

Edit to add recipe:
10-12 frozen chicken thighs
16 cups of water
5-6 bay leafs
About a tablespoon of poultry seasoning
Cook in pressure cooker for an hour on soup/meat “well done”
Once done add one box of panini(?) noodles and realize it’s super watery. Look for a healthy thickener, reach in your freezer and pull out your “trusty” ground flax seed. You figure you have used it in soup before what’s the big deal. Add a 5 tbsps at a time and stir, do this 4-5 times. Let noodles good for how long it says on box. Once noodles are sold serve the goo.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center