RE: RE: Poll: Would You Like if Steemit Sold Advertising and Shared the Revenue with Us?
You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Poll: Would You Like if Steemit Sold Advertising and Shared the Revenue with Us?

RE: Poll: Would You Like if Steemit Sold Advertising and Shared the Revenue with Us?

This is a great response darnuss06. You make some great points here. Here is my question: yes I understand that even harmless banner ads may involve some kind of "selling of information," but is that always the case? I remember the days when banner ads were not re-targeted ads, but just simply dumb ads that were essentially billboards on websites. Don't those still exist in some form? I know that when I go to the Nytimes website, I see ads that were clearly targeted (hence, my info was collected and sold), but I also see a few ads that almost certainly were not re-targeted (or at least I don't think they were). For example, from time to time I will see ads on the nytimes website that are for luxury women's apparel...clearly not for me. So that said, is it really double dipping if they are non-targeted ads? Second, my limited understanding of digital advertising is that the collection of MOST of the data is actually happening on OTHER sites. So for example, I google "travel to Hawaii," and the next day when I go to Nytimes, I see an ad for "Hawaiian Airlines." In this case, it wasn't the Nytimes that collected and sold my info. So is it possible to still do banner ads without collecting/selling information on users? Or are those times gone?

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center