A week of funs

I just finished a 3.8km run that lasted about 0hh:27mm:20ss !

image

Hey everyone!
I haven't been around much this week because we've had international and interstate visitors come hang with us in the forest this week.

It's been amazing, one of our friends celebrated her 30th birthday with us, surrounded by campfire s'mores and campfire guitaring, her first ever pumpkin Halloween carvings and just general band reunion funness. In the year before we left Melbourne, my partner was in 3 bands... one of which she completely created from the ground up herself and it because really super fun and life-changing... half the members now live overseas, but it was amazing to see a rockin' (assumed plural for half a band) of bandies jammin' in our music room.

We did all the usual Portland things; Timberline Lodge, Voodoo Donuts, Powell's Bookstore, Ground Kontrol, Alibi Karoke, Punch Bowl Social and a bunch of other stuffs.

All of our various bandie guests had all come from their really busy inner-city homes, so they all loved our peaceful country retreat... chockablock full of autumn colours and even despite there being zero deer. It was so weird... I normally see 3 to 12 deer wandering around every single day, but I haven't seen any for at least a week and a half... hope they're all okay.

Our veggie patch and orchard produced all the goods while our friends were here, again to super mega amazing excitement to the city kids.

Ground Kontrol totally blew my mind... we lived right near it for two years, and it took some well-researched hipsters from Australia to introduce it to me. It's a bar with a trillion old-school arcade machines. Including these little gems... all for 25 cents:





I don't play a lot of games... but I love games. I love game design, I love game theory, I love the art and the story telling... I'd pick a game over TV or a movie anyway (and pick Steem over games)…. but when I was younger, and we moved around a lot and didn't have many friends, my Dad would take my sister and I to the arcade, and playing the Ninja Turtle game was easily the highlight of my week... so to have another shot at it after all these years, with our friends was just epic for me.

There was one new game that I'd never seen before, that I'm now super obsessed with (and can not play) but that whole thing deserves a post of it's own.

Anyway, hope everyone in Steemland is well... and Exhaust is open for very special friends, so check it out if you like to post about hikes, runs, swims or retro arcade games.


Check out some detailed info at my EXHAUST page.
Join me in testing out EXHAUST!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center