The Autobiography Of A Rupee(2)

I soon found we were a mixed company. I took no notice of the greasy copper coins, as I knew they were of very low caste; and I was condescending to the small change, knowing that I was twice as valuable as the best of them, the fifty-paisa pieces, and a hundred times better than the cheeky little paisa. But I found a number of rupees of my own rank, but none so new and bright as I was. Most were old coins, and dull and worn as I am today.
Some of them were jealous of my smart appearance, and made nasty remarks; but one very old rupee was kind to me and gave me good advice. He told me I must respect old rupees and always keep the small change in their place advice which he summed up with the remark, ''A rupee is always a rupee, however old and worn. "
Our conversation was interrupted by the opening of the drawer and I was given in change to a young lady, who put me in her purse. But the purse had a hole, and I fell out as she walked along the street, and rolled into the gutter, where I was lost a long time. Eventually a very dirty and ragged boy picked me up and for some time after that I was in very low company, passing between poor people and small shopkeepers in dirty little streets. But at last I got into good society, and most of my time I have been in the pockets and purses of the rich.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center