Queen of the Night

t0rr4cod75.jpg

Queen of the Night, a.k.a Epiphyllum Oxpetalum, a.k.a Night Blooming Cereus Cactus

My Queen of the Night bloomed again. There were two blooms this time.

I am always very happy to see them bloom. I am so proud of them. You see, there is a story behind this pot of Queen of the Night. Some of you may remember the story. If you have forgotten,let me refresh your memory, and also for the benefit of the new comers.

They were just a couple of dying twigs/leaves when I planted them. I know they are hardy things, but they were so off, I wasn’t sure if they will survive. Anyhow, I thought I would just stick them in the pot and see what happens. Imagine by surprise when they not only survived, but grew to be very healthy, and had since rewarded me with many blooms.

aeob7udxyj.jpg
This was the bud about three days before the bloom .

1vh31g1k09.jpg
This is the bud at half past six in the evening. At this time, they will begin to bloom.

bhs3sxoi2y.jpg
This is the bloom at almost night.

re1ug9sbl2.jpg

1jtxgrinej.jpg

8fuqlw3wrr.jpg

After midnight, the blooms will begin to fade. One night only – that is the life spend of the Queen of the Night. Short-lived, but what a beautiful flower. The flowers have a strong fragrant which I like very much. Very nice indeed.

If you are interested to know more about the Queen of the Night, have a look at the video.

0mhkwoioii.png

Thank you for stopping by. If you like the post, please give it a vote. Resteem it if you think it worthy. Follow @quotes-haven if you like humour, quotes and reading about Life.
Cheers!

Previous post: -

On Life

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center