I Am An End-User That Wasn't Into Crypto Prior To Steem

End-User That Wasn't Into Crypto Prior To Steem fitinfun (1).jpg

@whatsup asked us to talk to him if we were new to crypto before STEEM. I am one of those people and here is my answer to the questions he asked in his post.

How did you hear about Steem?

I was on tsu when it died a painful death inthe Summer of 2016. We are a family of friends from tsu and a few of my tsuer friends came over in the fall of 2016 as we were all posting in FB groups we had and still have.

They wanted me to join, but I went back to Facebook, Twitter and Pinterest instead. Tsu was already my 6th failed platform in eight years of pushing my message of natural weight loss, and I did not want to try something else new again. I’m just trying to help fat people get thin and healthy and fb is full of my target audience.

Also other tsuers were boosting other platforms they went to after tsu’s death, and I had no desire to investigate them all at the time.

Then in March 2017, my tsu friends really started ramping up screaming about steemit and I came to look due to the great posts for content and for how good they looked on social media. Steemit posts were also randomly coming up in the top of my search results for various topics and all were consistently good.

When I came to Steemit and I saw the word “Crypto” and said “No!” I only ever heard of Bitcoin and did not feel like learning something new.

When did you join?

I finally came here in June 2017 with the great flood of @jerrybanfield. Thousands of us came at the time when he pushed hard where he posts.

I was already connected to Jerry in multiple places, and in June 2017 I was using his You Tube videos to help me write online courses. All of the sudden, in early June, every time I went to Jerry’s You Tube there were videos about steemit. So I started watching but I still did not want to do crypto.

Why did you join? (What was the attraction?)

Jerry made a video stating he had just invested 60K of his own money. So I decided to make the leap that day. If he was willing to sink that much in, I would try.

Have you expanded your crypto life beyond just STEEM.

Yes, I have manna and also byteball from that drop they did last year. I earn Superior Coin (SUP) daily by using @kyrptonia to promote STEEM posts.

I use LTC to get STEEM money out to live on and have at least 5 exchange accounts now.

I tried faucets and gave up for the waste of time.

How would you explain your current interest in Steem and Crypto in general?

I am mostly interested in STEEM and the dapps and blogging to get my message out. I have three blogs here now. The rest of crypto is interesting, but I have no money for it, so I just pay attention now – previously I did not.

I’m “big” on Twitter and Tweet good crypto news when I see it. I focus on the mainstreaming of crypto, my STEEM posts, and good posts from others for tweeting. I get great retweets from outsiders and now have about 900 crypto connections not related to STEEM. I get new crpto connections daily.

All of my 5000 Twitter connections before STEEM are content creators in about 10 niches I care about. I keep a clean list there and get good results with tweeting. I used to get good affiliate sales until Twitter changed rules last year so repetitive tweets cannot be done.

I also post out maybe 60% of my posts to fb pages and groups. They get get attention in most of the niches. Last time I checked, my reach on FB was 11M.

I am very interested to see what happens in the future. Do we have a replacement for the soon to fail fiat systems?

Are you holding or investing (no judgment here, I am just wanting to prove or disprove the value)

Ha! That you have to hedge the question that way says volumes about this nuthouse. People are offended if you take money out like I do.

Investing is the last thing on my mind. It’s all play money until it hits my hot little hand (each Wednesday usually).

I am a weight loss coach, author, and blogger with thousands of connections in many niches on other platforms. None of those people will come here to ‘invest” in crypto.

They WILL come here to make money with their content. That is the reason they blog and do social media at all. Crypto is a “downside” for my connections like it was for me.

If they come here and succeed, they may invest. I see that a lot with smaller accounts who have that as a goal.

I am a user of the money STEEM throws off and I have been living on it and other money that comes from my actions on STEEM since January 2017. I was very lucky to take a lot of money out between late Dec and March 2017 and with that, current earnings, and help from many here, I have been able to live a very nice life of poverty in SE Asia for all the time since.

I “grow” my blogs by incessantly blogging and commenting for cash. Leasing delegated sp, good curation, winning contests, and power downs that I reset as needed also help. It is barely enough to cover the 350-500 usd I need each month and I hope to do better soon/now.

I love this place entirely and hope it succeeds. I have wonderful connections who support me and care about me and I feel the same about them.

I have met many STEEMers in person in various countries in SE Asia and my son @bxlphabet has done the same in San Diego. He is currently living with @derekrichardson from @socalsteemit, who saved my son off the streets and is giving him a chance to succeed. My gratitude for this is never-ending.

I write minnow tips and help new people all day long to try to get more little people to succeed here. Our 90% fail rate coupled with the current barriers to entry is a complete tragedy for a place with such promise.

I promote STEEM everywhere I can on my many other social media platforms daily.

I do the best with the money that is in here to get the maximum out each week.

  • I’m holding the part I need to be a presence here.
  • I’m investing my time.
  • I’m spending the rest on rent and food.

You need people like me to thrive, multiply, and not be denigrated. Many people already count on this money – small as it may be. I read posts of people taking cash for unexpected expenses or routinely, especially in the 3rd world where we have a good presence.

Both December and January were bad enough for me here that I needed to post urgent calls for help in various posts. Both times many STEEMers helped me.

A few others wondered why the heck I feel so entitled.

  • I'm consistently in the top of the curation league by @abh12345
  • I consistenly get paid by @curie for making a lot of good interaction on their curied posts each week.
  • I consistently get @trufflepig acolades more than weekly. THese are for undervalued posts that "should" get more votes. Sometimes the pig is right, and I get more votes - often not.
  • My posts get picked up and voted by various smaller initiatives each week - this is where they search their tags a reward good posts.

I feel like I am a canary. If someone like me – posting 30+ posts on three blogs each week and making 200+ comments cannot make $500 usd a month, I do not know why.

I have brought 20 of my content creating friends in here by my work in the last 1.5 years. All love to see my posts on other platforms and I get good comments about them.

All my friends left quickly. All of them said the level of effort was not worth it. All make a living elsewhere online such as ebay, art sites, selling services or affiliate sales.

They see how hard I work and wonder why. Sometimes I do too, but then some little person grows with my help. I get a good comment of thanks and then I’m good to keep trying harder.

Thank you for asking the question @whatsup. I really appreciate the chance to contribute. In your post you say:

I want to make a case that we can use the Steem Blockchain to onboard MainStream Users to crypto, even without being designed for it.

It may not be designed for it but this lady stands at the front door of steemit:

y5a5gl35tf.png

Most other dapps talk about making money. They also tell you this as you login. Many of them upvote if you post with them.

Money is not evil if it helps people, and everyone cannot be an investor. You need workers too.

= =

Please Help Me Keep Helping at STEEM

Here is my latest minnow tips post if you struggle here. These tips can help you even if you are not new.

Monday Minnow Tips for Everyone from @fitinfun

Contents:

What should I do EACH DAY on STEEM with low power?

What do do with your STEEM

Are you shooting blanks with your votes?

Should you use an autovoter?

Join @qurator

Do not post to nowhere

Why bother to comment?

How and Why to use kryptonia

How to get Upvotes

For Twitter Users

How and Why to lease delegated sp

Curation Trails

Using Discord

These tips are constantly being updated. Check the comments of the post for more.

= =

Recent events have not been easy, and you can read about them here:

Situation Critical – My rent and wifi are not paid and now are both overdue

UPDATE: I am so happy and relieved to tell you that:

  • my rent and a wifi top up have been paid.
  • the money sent to my US paypal account is on its way and will be here next week.

And my son @bxlphabet is back! Take a look at his re-entry into the world of STEEM. I am so proud of him!

A bigger post describing current events will be posted soon, but I want to let anyone checking on me know that the first part of the situation is solved and that at least I will not be cut off from the world without a roof over my head.

I am so grateful to you all.

I am dedicated to STEEM and trying hard to carry on with your help. Here are some ways you can help and I would love to hear of any suggestion you may have for me.

Send any amount of STEEM or SBD to @fitinfun

I live in the 3rd world - yes, one STEEM will help me.

Here is what you can also do to help:

Follow my blogs:

@fitinfun
@bxlphabet
@fitinfunfood

We post on Busy most days, where their upvote for us is based on the collective SP of our followers. We follow back, because we love you.

Put my blogs on your curation trail

@fitinfun
@bxlphabet
@fitinfunfood

Delegate SP to any of us

Upvote any of our older posts which are close to payout.

If you can "only" vote some posts - It is enough.
If you can "only" send 1 STEEM - It is enough.
If you can "only" offer advice for how I can do better - It is enough.
If you can "only" offer encouragement and good wishes - It is enough.

If you can do more and think my presence here has value, I hope and pray you will.

This is the power of STEEM.

= =

bxlphabet fitinfun before and after.jpg

It is almost Super Bowl Sunday. Statistics say that only 5% of people with health resolutions for the New Year will still be on track. Is your fitness equipment still out and are you still on a "diet?"

I lost "Half My Size" eight years ago by using natural methods. I started on December 5th and did not give up. You can do it too!

This is Sharon @fitinfun. I am posting:

Please follow along or contact me directly if you would like some individual help with weight loss and health. Anyone can do this if I did.

And be sure to fitinfun no matter what!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now