Janur Kuning is A Sign🌴

8t41h4vk1l.jpg

who's this girl? And why her picture pinned on papaya tree😯


Hellow Steemit Fellows😉

Haaaahhh... it's been a week from my last post! I was busy reading comics😂 on webtoon. I don't have many interesting thing to share too😊 what can I do when I spent 15 hours a day to read?

Few days ago, I went for a walk with my hubby around the neighborhood and took a different route, a path to the neighbor village of our housing compound. I couldn't remember the route if you ask me to walk through the path again 😂😂 I'll never walk alone anyway.

How Do You Know that somewhere around your neighborhood is having a wedding party?

6lkuqsfuvf.jpg

This is Janur Kuning made from Coconut's shoot or yellow leaf


In My country, Indonesia, you will find this kinda sign wherever you go, the fresh one means the wedding party will be held in 1 or 2 days and the dried one means the wedding party must be has had held about a week or longer, none cares to take it down anyway😂

o0x4v1850p.jpg

why is Janur Kuning means wedding party?


Well.. I don't really know about the history of it😆 but whenever someone told you "sebelum janur kuning melengkung" aka "as long as the yellow leaf not there/bend" it means you still have a chance to marry with the one you love😁. She could be your long lost first love from the kindergarten or high school, he could be your best friend's boyfriend or your enemy's cousin, you still have a chance.

cw107bc99x.jpg

Hey Cici, I've seen this kinda yellow leaf decoration anywhere in Bali! Eventhough there's no wedding party😯


Well.. the Janur Kuning you've found in Bali is known as "penjor". It's not only famous as wedding decoration especially in Javanese Culture, but also part of tradition of Balinese. It doesn't means that if you see "Janur Kuning" then it's a sign this is the way to the wedding party location only, but it could also means that there's another type of celebrations nearby.

The placing of the yellow leaf on the entry gate to the location has its own meaning too😊 right side for the bride and left side for the groom. Here is another shocking myth that I only known recently 😂

if the yellow leaf was placing on both of the right and left side, then one of the yellow leaf dried earlier than another, people will considered that bride or groom is not virgin anymore 😁

Dang it.. I forgot to check on my own Janur Kuninh on my wedding party location😂😂 Just Kiding. How can that yellow leaf knows who's the one is not virgin? Uhhmm.. I don't remember whether we have that sign on the way to my wedding party at the beach😯😇 because I was busy kissing and talking to my hubby along the way😂😂😂.

plkehu6ee8.jpg

oh my.. what these love birds doing here 😉 aahh.. it's not mine, I saw its cage hanging at the side of the path we walk by😊


It's just part of our culture and it's a sign to the party location, bride's side or groom's side or both of them if the party location is at the hotel or other buildings/gardens/beach.

Jan means heaven, nur means light, kuning is yellow ... so janur kuning means bright light of heaven🌴

It's a wish for everyone who gets married and build a family. It's a pray for the newlywed to live a wonderful life through marriage. We don't have to print a wedding invitation and send it to the close relatives, use the "mouth invitation" 😅 and if the guess came from distant place, give them a blind map to the location with the yellow leaf, and don't forget to put a card with the bride and the groom names on it with their parents' names too. Don't go to a wrong party!

who made the yellow leaf decoration?

There must be someone in the village or neighborhood who knows how to create one, or just order it from those who know how😊 it's also a business here in Java. I just checked some online shops which offering the products too. NO.. I'M NOT ORDERING ANY😂 I'VE NO PLAN TO GET MARRY ANYMORE, WHILE THIS ONE IS WON'T BE OVER TILL THE DAY I DIE😆.

So, what's a sign to a wedding party location or symbol of any celebrations in your country?


This is an Invitation to join #ccc for Guaranteed 👍 Daily Income 💵 and Payout 💸 for Newbies (2.0) 🐟 🐜 🐛 in #ccc 👣 and Follow 👣 the Honor Code 🏅 - the Creed (Conditions and Limits Inside)
AND
the latest update <<< please click to read.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now