Are you a US Citizen Excited About the Upcoming EOS Token Distribution? I Have Some Terrible News For You.

You cannot participate.

What a bummer! I've been doing a bit of reading up on EOS after seeing EOS related content around here and really love the ideas behind the platform. Vertical and horizontal scaling of blockchain based applications in an OS type construct? Plus, @dan on board? You've piqued my interest EOS!

So, this week I've been going through the whitepaper and educating myself on the specs. However this morning when browsing through some more, I saw something on the FAQ that made my heart sink like a stone:

Ugh!

I was so wrapped up in reading about the technology and the unique ICO token allocation structure that I lost sight of the fact I cannot even participate at all from the ground up like others from around the world. I'm not even mad at EOS, in fact, I completely get it. I am just really disappointed in the amount of regulatory hurdles we in my country.

Any other US based Steemians as disappointed as I am?

What are you planning on doing in the wake of this regulation? Just going all "yolo" and participating anyways?

Can we just buy off an exchange at some point and still be able to participate yet be compliant? I would still like to, and stay US compliant but it seems like that is not a possibility right now.

@teamleibinz

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now