Well I'll be Damned... Im Producing Blocks On EOS

EOS Block production.JPG

I went to bed last night dreaming about being a witness on the EOS network. After some yard work this morning I decided to give it a try...

You Should Know

  • I have very limited skills and time using Ubuntu. Maybe about a month or so. I'm not a coder by any stretch of the imagination.
  • I'm running Linux using a virtual machine. (Virtual Box)
  • The computer I'm using is a turd. A few year old Walmart boxed Dell Inspiron 15 (i3, 6gb ram)

I basically followed the steps on the EOS Github: https://github.com/EOSIO/eos#singlenode

I'm producing blocks and I feel like I'm experiencing history in the making.. just amazing!

Maybe in the future I can truly pursue becoming a EOS witness. I have some capable computers that I use for mining but wonder about the storage network that will be a part of EOS and if block producers will be required to provide that storage. I have much to learn but am willing to put in work. Maybe @dan can help me gain some perspective and guidance on how I could better contribute to the EOS network... Lord knows I'm making my consistent contributions to the token distribution : )

I may be shooting blanks (block-wise), but they are powerful blanks! As I finish this post I just produced my 400th block, Steem on friends!

P.S. If you get a second you should check out The Dollar Vigilante interview with Dan that was posted 6 days ago:

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now