Can Kids Be Entrepreneurs?

Matt-Sons-of-sawdust-entreprenuer.jpg

Entrepreneurship, what a wonderful thing! I believe that entrepreneurship starts at an early age. I started my first business when I was in 3rd grade, making bead necklaces. My clients (my 8 year old classmates) chose a custom bead pattern for their necklace and I made them, custom to order. It took about an hour to make a necklace and I sold them for $10 each. I was making $10 an hour as an 8 year old in the 1980’s. That was some serious cash!!! Entrepreneurship needs to be nurtured and encouraged in our kids so that they will grow up believing they can make their awesome ideas a reality.

Unfortunately, my school didn’t see things this way. I was caught selling necklaces and I got in BIG TROUBLE!!! My principle asked me how much money I had made, I told her I had made about $300 so far that year. For punishment, she made me donate $300 in canned goods to the school and I was forbidden to sell anything else, otherwise I would be expelled. With much reluctance, I donated $300 worth of canned goods to the school. I remember feeling crushed! My principle should have seen that spark in me and encouraged it, but instead she crushed my entrepreneurial dreams. I didn’t let that stop me! Here I am 30 years later and the entrepreneurial dream is still alive inside of me, just like it is inside of these kids!

@lilicecreamdude - Beau is a 13 year old who has owned his own ice cream business since he was 6 years old!!! Beau (pronounced Bo) believes that he can spread happiness with his ice cream. He is Athens’ youngest entrepreneur and the youngest person ever to become a member of the Athens Area Chamber of Commerce.

@sweetsaltyandsassy - London is a 6 year old who makes gourmet popcorn & cotton candy. She started her business at 5yrs old after being inspired by Lil Ice Cream Dude.
What's really great about these kids is not just the fact that they started their own businesses, but that they are giving back to the community. Both of these kids have given proceeds from their businesses to help others in need. I see a bright future for these young business owners. So, the answer is YES! Kids can be entrepreneurs and they need our help and support along the way. Now please go follow and support their businesses because these kids are an inspiration to us all!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now