Re-Introduction to El Rey

Hello Everyone,

My name is Robert and I am an aspiring entrepreneur attending North Carolina State University majoring in Technology Design Engineering (TDE). Currently I am looking to build capital after having tested out several ideas in the field. Steemit seems like an interesting investment and so here I am. Please feel free to reach out to me about anything artistically be it: graphic design, animation, photography, music, etc. Art is my passion and I try to include it in anything entrepreneurially that I do.

Below is a Kickstarter that I ran last semester for an idea that I had called "Ready To Push?". "Ready to Push?" was my attempt to make a snapchat for online content you could find from your favorite clips on Youtube, Netflix, or any common action done on your mobile smartphone including playing games and wanting to record a segment to send to friends and family through direct messaging. Did this all on my own (which was apart of the problem), I BOUGHT A PATENT for the technology that would have to go behind this feature but In the end I came up short and raised $5,046 for the idea instead of the $100,000 that I asked for. I attributed this failure largely to a lack of knowledge about how to effectively lead a campaign. As you can probably imagine, I set a price that was too high and did not know that I needed to build up anticipation for the product before releasing it to the public so that it may have a chance of reaching a trending status. I still believe the idea is great, I just didn't market it the right way.

add5fca299bf18eccb613922f73e8027_original.png

Here is a link to the idea that I animated:

Here was my Content:

We love short 5-10 second clips, scenes, and snippets from our favorite movies and songs. Want to send them? Are you "Ready To Push?"

82e650762a8b3c3b3c075031ebde710b_original.png

What is RTP?!

"Ready To Push?" is an idea for a new interactive software that identifies elements within a page and in real time converts them into mp4 format. Picture an interactive video screenshot that capitalizes on Snapchats short video concept. Now picture you can snapchat anything on the web! We already have a patent but still require a prototype. If you haven't already, please watch the video above for an animated demonstration of it's capabilities, some capabilities that will eliminate buffering times as well as cut your data in half!

Background

Video is the future of content media. Forrester, an influential research and advisory firm, released a study demonstrating that if a picture paints 1,000 words then one minute of video is worth 1.8 million. It's not difficult to see why. If it were five years in the future, would you be reading this section or would you be watching it?

Concept behind "RTP?"

7706bb6de12acad93dcf3fff7f450849_original.png

The service will better enable users with the ability to share video content. By its real-time conversion, "RTP?", will establish an incredibly fast alternative for a demographic that is very quickly changing, becoming more eager to diversely connect. Short clips will adhere to current trends of the busy preoccupied lifestyle. Whereas previously, people were unable or unwilling to take the time to view 1-5 minutes of video, especially out in public, "RTP?" offers for a quick relief of only the most impactful content and message to be expressed. Additionally, "RTP?" cuts data usage by bypassing streaming and moving straight into downloadable content. Though difficult to prove, given that videos currently are rarely downloaded onto phones, "RTP?", bridges these gaps as it is the first interface to smoothly transition online content via a new extraction into a compressed video file later to be received. A data calculator presented by Verizon gives a close estimate:

Streaming a video in 4G 10 minutes per day takes up 2GB per month
Uploading and downloading photos and audio, the closest substitute to downloading videos, takes up less than half that amount as spending 30 minutes downloading audio tracks (3.5 min at 192 kbps) comes out to be 1 hour and 45 minutes a month.
Therefore:

5 hours of streaming each month uses 2 GB
While 5 hours of downloading comes out to be a mere .7 GB
For reference see: (https://www.verizonwireless.com/b2c/splash/dataShareCalculator.jsp)

Detailed Information

The method for "RTP?" includes receiving media content in a web application and executing an action on the received media content. Such content would include but is not limited to mp3 and mp4. The method further includes converting the media content into a compressed video file and presenting a graphical banner through a user interface. Also, the method includes the step of transferring the compressed video file.

148639597469c311682fd81607940b45_original.png

Buy In Content

Will be represented through the management of advertisement and extended functionality.

Advertisement
There will be a great opportunity for advertisement. Short advertising clips will be sent directly to the recipient's messages prior to watching an "RTP?" video. Supporters here will receive great deals to minimize or eliminate advertisement.

Purchases will be carried out by my webpage and released for user input. There will be an option for monthly or yearly pay to achieve the buy in content.

Extension
"RTP?" will be free for up to 15 seconds of video capture but will be capable of reaching 30 seconds through due investment.

Capital Cost

The capital cost is relatively low in comparison to other start-ups requiring a maximum of $200,000 to hire software engineers and several programmers to build the program, release the service, and professionally advertise for 3 months.

I will first focus on the refinement stage of the project before moving onto the implementation stage and therefore will only require $120,000 for this campaign. Afterwards, I believe "RTP?" will promote itself.

ab47dec6605b3929973432377083dae1_original.png

Following a Successful Kickstarter Campaign

I will use your money to hire a team of programmers to assist in the creation of "RTP?" I want to use software engineers for the technical vision of this work. They will oversee all operations on this project reporting only to me when decisions are to be made. Other programmers will simply follow their instructions. I also wish to create a website in which downloads, troubleshooting, and general information will be made present.

If provided with adequate funding, I will make all necessary arrangements to place "RTP?" in the best possible hands for production and marketing. I will work with various resources and businesses to prepare for the first official beta type release. Finally, after improving upon the beta type, I will release the final version of the software for download from my website and use the best digital marketing agency available to assist me in its exposure. I will wait for a couple weeks before observing trends and thinking about adjustments or possible promotions.

Hiring Process
In to ensure the best result, I will require high end programmers. Such that I will ensure the following be in order:

Hourly wage for the individual Programmer: $35-$55 for roughly $6,440-$10,120 within a three month period (assuming 8 hours of work each day and 30 day months excluding weekends)
Hourly wage for Software Engineer: $45-$65 for roughly $8,280-$11,960 within a three month period (assuming 8 hours of work each day and 31 day months excluding weekends)
Anticipating on needing 2 software engineers and 8 programmers

Additional Proceedings
The presentation of my website will serve ideally as a sole source for downloading buy-in content as well as the extension for the free software.(Assistance will be included in the website, including FAQs)

I was also thinking this might be a center for the most popular conversions and downloads so depending on how well this idea is received I may invest in building a new platform or expanding upon current platforms. (Separate from the campaign)

Max spending will be $15,000 for the website but most likely I will pay somewhere between $5,000 - $10,000.

Total Cost Before Start-Up (Launch):

$75,760-$111,280

Risks and challenges

As indicated by the total size of the online digital media market, current demand, and trends, "RTP?" has a substantial opportunity for growth. Promotion will be crucial toward the refinement and implementation process, however, protection from a patent obtained will enforce the need of competitors to go through me.

Risk

Google (Browser Extension)
-Could potentially mimic my idea if not for the patent I have currently pending
Apple (Browser Extension)
-Could potentially mimic my idea if not for the patent I have currently pending
FFMPEG (Conversion Program)
-Conversion program that converts any video to any format via a url
Vimeo (Video sharing capabilities)
-Allows one to send a link with a video and gives the option to display a particular time appointed to it
Snapchat (sending short clips)
-Sending small 10 second segments
-Reinforces growing trend among youth who use mobile video

Competition will also include Display Recorder, Apowersoft, Parsehub, Web Scraper, Import.io, and Octoparse; none of which utilize the new software "RTP?" will seek to become by targeting the young generations.

31dc9d74306257298fd442e50f9ecd64_original.png

6648b450eeb9a6071681ecc85a44fbbf_original.png

135d8f8ebd79cc5c0f4c6140f0a49f11_original.png

Challenges

Change in technology: A change technology could only improve my service. It is a design that conceptually cannot be improved but will technically be capable of improvement
Change in government regulations: Government regulation could prevent the distribution of many videos and therefore be a detriment to my video sharing if not for "fair use" which guarantees protection to copy portions of a work as review for purposes of illustration, comment, or quotation in order to clarify the user's observations
Change in the economy: A change in economy has no effect on my product. The product itself provides free services with potential for advertisement and added benefit of buy-in content
Change in your industry: A change in the industry does not leave room for concern when in regards to video sharing. People will always wish to share content. I have statistical reason to believe that my idea will greatly change and influence the industry

"RTP?" will seek to target all demographics but focus on the ages of 8-35. This group in particular is expected to take up the trend.

NOW ONCE AGAIN THIS FAILED but I have not given up on it. Right now I am simply learning more about the market and the proper way to start up. I look forward to posting more about my projects, some more artistically, some musically, and some more technological. I look forward to building further connections and opportunities with anyone on here. Everyone here has found this site and to me have shown their insight into their own value. Im so excited! Alright EL PSY CONGROO!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center