An ugly side of renewable energy.

pic5.jpg

Before I continue, I just want to point out I am totally in favour of renewables. I live off grid and have solar and am entertaining the idea of a wind turbine. So I am not against wind energy.

I just wanted to use these pics that I took to highlight the indelible mark that wind energy can make if not managed very sensitively. I knocked up this artists impression before and after to highlight how this landscape once looked:

before_after.jpg

We were driving towards Vegas from LA and took a route that took us via Palm Springs. It felt like we were driving through this wind farm for several minutes. Was actually quite sad as the spectacular landscape has really been blighted - and a great number of the turbines looked out of action and abandoned.

pic4.jpg

The pictures do all the talking really.

collage.jpg


If you like this post please upvote and follow me

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now