You could save a life (photography from upstate NY)

hike.jpg

"If there's no one beside you
When your soul embarks
Then I'll follow you into the dark"

I think this is the most beautiful lyrics I've ever heard.

None of us know what is going on in other's lives...unless, of course, they tell you. There are millions each day suffering with who knows what. It could be anxiety, depression, the death of a loved one or friend, suicidal thoughts...the list is endless. All of us, at one point or another, either disregard the thoughts and feelings of others as trivial, or something that we cannot impact or alter. "I do not know how the help them, but I do hope someone can...": thoughts of the masses.

Please, do not keep this mindset.

I know the possible thought that could arise after reading this: my problems should be number one, because, of course, taking care of myself is most important.

I agree to an extent. Yes, taking care of yourself is key. Some cannot do it on their own. Encouragement is a key, and sometimes, a life-saver.

It hurts me each day to read about people, young and old, taking their lives due to how others treated them, or how others didn't treat them. It truly breaks my heart.

hike 2.jpg

I, too, suffer from depression and anxiety. Sometimes it gets the best of me. I, once, attempted suicide, but was unsuccessful. It changed me. Do I still have those thoughts? Of course. One who is prone to depression will never defeat those demons. It's about controlling them and harnessing them: pushing yourself to a better conclusion. I struggle everyday. Tough? Yes. Manageable? Yes. But not alone. Know each of us have the ability to encourage another. Loved one, stranger, friend, etc...

All that said, I challenge each of you this week to let someone know that you are thinking about them and that you are there for them if they need it. In a way, this makes me snicker, for I hate when people challenge others on social platforms. I know and get it. But with this, you never know how a life could be changed. It could be a friend or family member you haven't talked to in years. It could be a sister you talked to yesterday. It doesn't matter. You don't know how a life can be touched.

One love and may someone's day get a little better this week.

DSC_6623.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center