Why you Should be Watching Ted Talks.


I have been a huge fan of Ted talks for years now.


Lately, I have been watching them more than ever to find inspiration for blogging and today it got me thinking that everyone should be watching Ted talks. So, I wanted to make a blog about why you should watch them.


Brilliant speakers taking about innovative subjects.


There are so many brilliant speakers I have seen do Ted talks. They are engaging, interesting, persuasive. They often are tapping into subjects that are rarely talked about. They often tackle controversial issues head-on. They educate us and make us though. Thought-provoking, definitely. I was away from most Ted Talks with my brain spinning around digesting ideas and batting them around, looking at them from different angles. Crumbling them into a ball and kicking them around. It really gets me inspired and thinking. This is the number one reason I think we should all watch Ted Talks.


Incredibly varied content and different unique viewpoints.


Do I agree with the opinion of every Ted Talk speaker? No, but that is because there are SO MANY Ted Talks and they talk about so many subjects from technology and science to spirituality and dreams. They talk about education, brains, psychology, mental illness, abuse, art. I don't agree with every video I see but I enjoy every one of them and I think of the variety as a pro not a con. I like seeing different perspectives and viewpoints, in fact I think it is crucial for my learning and growing.


Humor, Heart, Humanity.


There are many videos that offer humor and pleasure. There are also many heart-warming videos. I feel like I have some of my faith in humanity restored after spending an hour watching Ted Talks. The speakers are often such genuine people and it really makes me feel like we are all connected in something that can be great. It reminds me that people are out there trying to make something great and it inspired me that I can do the same.


Let's not forget about Ted Ed.


There is also a separate section for short educational videos that are animated. I find them such a wonderful way to learn. I think they do a great job of simplifying some complex subjects in a way where I can learn about even subjects that don't come naturally to me. I like to watch a few Ted-Ed videos a day to keep the ole' brain happy.


My two favorite Ted Talks.


This Ted talk on depression is probably the most accurate talk about depression I have ever seen. It affected me deeply. I think it does a great job of explaining depression in a way that even people not suffering from it would understand.

This kid is so heckin smart and I just love this talk about hackschooling.


HTML tutorial

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center