Vlog from the Lake // Two Years Ago... I Went Back to School and Got a Degree I May Never Use - Do I Regret It?

Hello Steemians!

Today I wanted to share a bit about my experience with higher education and how the role of institutionalized education has changed. I talk about why I went back to school two years ago to get a Bachelor's Degree. Spoiler alert... it was just to get the sheet of paper.

At the time, it made a lot of sense for my trajectory in the corporate world.

Those of you who saw my post about side hustles from a few days ago, know that even though i'm still working a 9-5 job, I'm actively working towards my goals of freedom and financial independence.

There are obviously many occupations that require advanced training and need specialized degrees. I'm not addressing those kinds of occupations here. In this video, I discuss the pros and cons of those seeking to get a degree just because society says they need it.

This is not a black and white topic for many, and this video certainly covers a few complicated topics.

For some, it really is important to get that piece of paper and it makes the most sense for their life. Heck, i'm one of those people now!

I decided to go back to school before I really caught the "Entrepreneurial bug" and now I may never use it.

Does that mean I regret it though? My answer may surprise you.

If I could transport my past self to today and see the non-corporate path I am taking - would I still go back to school? Ummm... no.

BUT... getting that degree actually brought a lot of unexpected good into my world. It helped me go from feeling powerless in my employment situation, to feeling empowered to question what I really wanted to do with my time. This really started the whole snowball of where I am today.

Would that have happened without finishing my degree? I guess I’ll never really know.

Getting through school debt free

In this video, I also briefly touch on how I was able to complete three years of schooling in one year (while still working full time) and did so completely debt free. I have a LOT to say about the topic of student debt, and if there seems to be interest - I may do future posts on the subject and some of my tips and tricks for getting through school debt free.

Also... This is my first SCENIC vlog!

It was such a beautiful day that I had to get outside. It was still really cold here, but as the weather starts to warm, I look forward to filming more vlogs in interesting and fun places!


Call out to listeners/readers:

What is your take on the topic of higher education? If you have a degree, has having one been advantageous in your life, or not?



▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center