RE: RE: Unschooling 101 Part 1: How kids learn
You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Unschooling 101 Part 1: How kids learn

RE: Unschooling 101 Part 1: How kids learn

Very interesting. Thank you. I hated school, not because I wasn't intelligent (I have a Masters and am also a qualified accountant (which is also equivalent to a Masters), but because the teachers didn't inspire me, and didn't teach me what I wanted to learn. Furthermore, I didn't like some of the other kids, and found them hard to relate to. Maybe they were uninspired, too?

What I did was to stick my head in books on the topics I wanted to learn about, and ask lots of questions. Consequently, I consider my general knowledge is much greater than that of many other people, and especially of younger people (do they teach them anything in school nowadays?).

The other thing I feel is that I really started to appreciate and benefit from education when I was in my thirties and older. My view is that children are not really mature enough to get the most out of what they are taught. Quite what that says we need to do about it, I don't quite know.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now