Is Becoming Transgender a Dangerous "Trend"?

image.png


I know this is a very hot subject and I admit that I don't know very much about it. But, a few year ago, a long-time friend transitioned, after 50, from male to female and it, completely took me by surprise). Previously, he had a string of girlfriends, which he, frequently told me about & one of whom I met. He seemed a guys guy and when I met him as a female, post surgery and a year or so into his new lifestyle, it was like meeting another person. I More recently, a young family member who is a teenage girl is in the process of transitioning into a boy. Once again, I did not see it coming as I thought of this person as being quite feminine, with her interest in makeup, etc..

So, while I may not be an expert on the subject, I am genuinely interested/concerned to learn more. Asking a young trans person/ activist on a college campus, some time ago, I given this pithy definition: "Sex is what's between your legs; gender is what is in between your ears." Which makes it, somewhat, less confusing that after transitioning from male to female, the now-trans-female might continue to be attracted to females, making what was a heterosexual relationship homosexual.

At the outset, let me state that I recognize that gender dysphoria — discomfort in one’s biological sex — has always existed and is a genuine condition. But, living in America, I've noticed that in the last decade, this diagnosis has multiplied, exponentially. I've also noted that, with the support of popular culture and fierce activism, young people are transitioning earlier and earlier.

Might gender confusion be partly to blame, peer pressure, societal pressure, mental health issues? These are all some of the issues raised by Abigail Shrier's critically-acclaimed and deeply divisive book: IRREVERSIBLE DAMAGE: The Transgender Craze Seducing Our Daughters ("Best Books 2020" Economist)


image.png


Shrier, who writes for the Wall Street Journal regrets that this has become a 'political' issue and has become a persona non grata in some circles for daring to ask deeply unpopular questions regarding whether it is always a good idea for young people to make such drastic, and irreversible, decisions about their bodies, lives and future.

Here, she is in conversation with Joe Rogan:



What do you think? I'd be interested to hear your views/experience with this subject in the comment section.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency