Losing the Kitchen Sponge - For Good! #earthdeeds

"Mama, what happened to the kitchen sponge?"

Miss Ploi @nabithecat, my 14 year old daughter had just returned from 5 weeks away in Korea, and was about to wash the dishes.

"We don't have one anymore!" I yelled back. "Still too much toxic plastic in our world - I made some more changes while you were away."

And so it was. I had been looking at the grubby kitchen sponge some weeks back and was about to add buying a new one to the shopping list, when it struck me that I am a part of the problem in the world with all this unnecessary plastic. Mostly it's just habit.

And so I bought a pack of 3 cotton cloths and changed up the grubby, bacteria infested kitchen sponge to a washable, cotton facecloth. And we have the recyclable steel wool on standby for heavy duty cleaning.
Dishes1.jpg

We also have 2 little eco-friendly brushes for our reusable bamboo, metal and glass straws, and for getting into tricky corners of the juicer etc.
Dishes2.jpg

The upfront investment was negligible - just over USD $1 for 3 cloths.
Dishes4.jpg

The cloths get washed and hung out in the sun very regularly, so we're talking a lot more hygienic too. I want to say it was a pleasure to throw our disgusting sponge in the trash:
Dishes3.jpg

But it was tinged with some sadness at how long it will take for this sponge to break down (if ever) and how many of these I have bought and used in my 55 years on planet earth.

Are YOU still using plastic sponges in your kitchen or bathroom?
Time to make a change?

BlissednBlessed as my awareness grows. Making changes. Grateful.

Come check out my natural Thai herbal business…

Logo1.jpg
Pure Thai Naturals
@ecoTrain Quality Eco-Green-Sustainable Content on Steemit
ecotrainbannerpassenger.png
Proudly contributing to @naturalmedicine natural-medicine banner.jpg

Grateful for the curation and support of @tribesteemuptribesteemupbannerNM2.png

Celebrating and encouraging Freedom, Truth, Happiness, Life and Love with @freedomtribe freedom_steem_tribe.jpg

Contributing to the @earthtribe. Cos it MATTERS.Earthtribe Banner 2.png

steemxp.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center