Without You By My Side - an original song


Without You By My Side is a music collaboration between my brother and I. While I was staying at his house, we had a few very late nights singing and talking. I mentioned that I had a poem and wanted to turn it into a song. With words and a melody in my head, my brother tuned the guitar and we began to work on this original piece.

The video is just a practice session and I make no apologies for the quality because - I am not even kidding when I tell you - we were up all night and watched the sun rise. This particular recording was done at about 5 o'clock in the morning and you're getting a first look. ❤️ Enjoy! ❤️

Without You By My Side

Music by Claude Buley | Lyrics by Meredith Loughran
copyright © 2019 Meredith Loughran & Claude Buley. All Rights Reserved

I never thought that I'd be living
Without the presence of your smile
And though the clock keeps on a-ticking
I'm gonna sit and cry a while

Ooh, ooh, ooh, ooh
There's nobody picking up the phone
Ooh, ooh, ooh, ooh
I don't want to be here all alone and face my life
Without you by my side

I know that you weren't always perfect
But you were the perfect one for me
Our plan was to get old together
I guess it wasn't meant to be

Ooh, ooh, ooh, ooh
'Cause the pain cuts through me to the bone
Ooh, ooh, ooh, ooh
I don't want to be here all alone and face my life
Without you by my side

I don't know how to keep on going
The darkness in my heart is wide
What is this world going to look like
If I don't have you by my side

Ooh, ooh, ooh, ooh
There's nobody picking up the phone
Ooh, ooh, ooh, ooh
I don't want to be here all alone and face my life
Without you by my side

The inspiration behind the words

This is dedicated to my father. June 22, 2019 will be nine years since his death and there are some days when I miss him so much. Even though he was my dad, he was one of my best friends. He is always in my heart and on my mind.

As I read through and sang the words, it also occurred to me that this would resonate with anyone who dared to love with every part of their being.

I would love to hear what you think. Be honest - and gentle.

divider.png


created by @kookyan

Cast your witness votes!

You have 30 votes. Make them count.

Follow me on Social Media

Twitter | Instagram | LinkedIn | Facebook | YouTube | SnapChat | Whaleshares | Steemit | Medium

Also on YouTube. Please subscribe to my channel!


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now