Journey Back To Freedom By Quitting My Job!


*Click above for video :)

First and foremost, my name is Kali and it's a darn pleasure to be here!

Quick intro... I am starting my journey back to freedom from the golden handcuffs that I've volunteered to be strapped in. You know, the ones with a salary, "security", benefits and retirement? Most commonly referred to as a JOB. Many have one, but many hate it. With just one life, why would you limit yourself to sacrificing it to just a JOB? Well, I know I can't anymore so I'm breaking the cuffs.

New to Texas and my 30’s, I figured I’d take a stab at what security felt like by finding a “great job.” While the company I work for actually is great, I have quickly come to realize all the things I’ve sacrificed just for the sense of security. I wake up at 5:30am and get home around 6:30pm. Since I work in outside commercial sales, I drive alllllll over Texas, completing the day with utter exhaustion. Now… I understand that this is a blessed opportunity to have in life and I am in total appreciation of it, BUT I’ve given up my passion, my dreams, my health and most of my time for this position. I feel as if I have nothing to offer the world around me anymore. With time being our most valuable asset and 1,000% irreplaceable, I am not willing to set aside my life to fall into that rat race. Nope. Not anymore.

Prior to this first corporate experience, I had created opportunities for myself by following my passion to help others with their business. I curated events, found myself as a philanthropy consultant for celebrities, dabbled in marketing and branding, and was always being true to who I was. I was always seeking out the next project or person to help, all while having fun as a waitress. As a “people person” I enjoyed the job where I got to meet thousands of people over the years, hear their stories and network. I specifically declined opportunities to work for a corporate office because I loved creating my schedule and enjoying life on my terms. This, my friends, is what it’s about. I love to work… but not just to say, “hey, I’m secure now.” In fact, Jim Carrey says it best in his epic commencement address, “You can fail at what you don’t want…. so you might as well take a chance on doing what you love.” I highly recommend you watch the video below if you haven’t already. This sense of security that a JOB brings is only that, a sense. It is NOT a guarantee that you will forever be taken care of by following someone else’s blueprint to success, so go LIVE if that’s what you would prefer! It’s not always easy and positive to do things on your own terms, but neither is it easy and positive to commit yourself to a job you hate. Am I right, or am I right? All I’m saying is, do something you love and care about. If it happens to be corporate, there ain’t nothin’ wrong with that, so kudos to you! You’re already livin’ it up for yourself and on your terms!

As we approach Christmas in 2017, I’m planning to make the jump back out to sea by February 1, 2018. I’ve already begun one side hustle and plan to find ways to create more opportunity for myself and I’m extremely excited and nervous! I don’t want to regret a single day of this life (easier said than done, but you get the gist). I invite you to come along on this journey with me, through my ups and downs, through my excitement and discouragement, and in my pursuit of finding success.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now