I Get To Wake Up & Do This Everyday

Watch On DTube

An Unorthodox Role

Being at home with my daughter everyday was not in the original gameplan. But the fact that I get to wake up everyday to laugh and spend time with my little girl has been at times draining but also very rewarding. I can tell that we are bonding more and more each day. She does not want to leave my arms. When I leave her in another room with her grandparents she will crawl her way back to me in the next room. 

The feeling of knowing that she looks to me for help, food, and comfort is a very powerful feeling that is hard to describe. I am glad I get to be there for her because I know there are some fathers who are not in their children's lives for various reasons. It is truly a gift. 

Convergence

Everything has just seemed to start to come together in my life. I had been searching since I was in college for some idea of what I was created to do in life. An experiment here and there and I had still not figured it out. But now there is a major convergence of energy that I just cannot gloss over. 

My overall health is better than it has been since my burnout due to me being actively involved in my own recovery. I get to take care of my little girl, I get to focus on creating, and more importantly I am using my gifts of faith and encouragement to turn the world on it's head. 

I am doing this all while taking on a role that has been misunderstood by many; the role of the stay at home dad or the work from home dad as some put it. Now I only use the term "stay at home dad" because it is a familiar concept. To some that role does not get looked at in an honorable way. It is due to the various reasons or beliefs regarding the role of men in the family structure. Which I find weird since historically men normally did work around the house to make a living and be there for their families. 

The title of "stay at home dad" is nothing more than a title to me because I am not only taking care of my daughter and doing other things but I am also working by creating content for Steemit. This is very hard to do day in and day out. 

 

Some people may wonder what a "stay at home dad" does everyday. I can only speak for myself so I will share with you what I do everyday.

What I Do As A Stay At Home Dad

  • Feed my daughter about 3-5 times throughout the day until my wife comes home
  • Change diapers
  • Take my daughter on a walk outside to get some fresh air
  • Do laundry (not everyday but this still has to be done at some point throughout the week)
  • Spend time laughing, playing and bonding together
  • Reply to comments on Steemit while my daughter is sleep or create videos on our walks
  • Try to find some me time just to get a break (I try to give her to my parents while I get some time to myself)

So as you can see this is typically how I spend my days until my wife gets home. But at this point I have gotten used to this way of doing things. I do try to mix it up here and there so it doesn't become too monotonous. I embrace my role and I am feeling so much better than I have been not only in the previous months but also in the previous few years. This is simply because I am living in the flow of life and embracing who I am all while being able to focus on all the things I really care about or enjoy. Living an unorthodox life doesn't scare me and I want to show my little girl that I am happy to be her father while doing so. 

Are You A Stay At Home Dad?

Do You Think You Would Be Able To Handle A Role Like This?

Image 1



▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center