Character Design Photoshop Drawing Process


Here is how I am usually working. Right now it's a huge Ocean sticker pack for eSteem application. Drawing these characters in Adobe Photoshop using my Microsoft Surface Pro 4 tablet PC. This video is x10 faster plus it has some gaps in between. So I guess total to finish one such a character it takes me around 20-35 minutes.

Sketching

Sketching is the base and main thing of the process. If the sketch is not good then other stages will fail even if you are technically good. So it is always better to sketch lots of variants. I was using silouettes here searching for a shape.

sketches.jpg

Video explanation

You can see my way of working is pretty simple. After the sketch is satisfying me I am making it transparent, creating new layer and drawing new solid high quality shape with a hard round brush then I lock the transparency of that layer so I can draw inside that form without touching outsides. And there I am using brushes with 3-5% of flow adding depths. Some objects are on different layers. Sometimes it is easier for me to work that way.

screen_final_up.jpg

If you have any questions or suggestions please let me know. This is my first video post on dTube. Hope it will go fine. You can test new sticker pack in Telegram right now.

sticker_old.png


My other accounts:


▶️ DTube
▶️ YouTube (High Res)
▶️ IPFS
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center