Dtube Original Ambient Electronic Soundtrack on Modular Synth by DRUMOPERATOR


In this Dtube video I tried to reinforce my modular synth workflow goals and build an ambient piece using the exact same patch as my Dsound Steemit anthem piece from a few days ago. Obviously I wrote all new sequences, slowed the tempo down appreciably and completely reworked the modulation envelopes, but I continue to be amazed at the diversity of sound you can get out of one labor-intensive setup on the modular.

Much of the loop is composed on stereo Dixie II oscillators feeding the Mutable Instruments Clouds. Having consumed a voracious amount of modular synth content via instagram over the last two years, I am fully aware that Clouds has become somewhat of a defacto modular synth cliche. There is good reason for this. It's one of the most powerful granular synthesis + reverb engines I've ever used, and I've used all of them. Clouds, with its default firmware, is amazing at getting into the DNA of whatever you feed it and stretching it out into looping, lumbering pads. By loading opensource firmware on it (Clouds Parasites being the most popular), even -more- tonal options and reverb/looping algorithms become possible. Basically what I'm saying is that I don't care that every other #modularsynth video on youtube/instagram is just an oscillator being fed into Clouds. It's awesome, it takes modulation fabulously and there should be one in every modular rack. I have it in lofi loop mode which enables some really rad onboard modulateable filtering and puts it's timbre firmly in the realm of dystopian sci-fi soundtracking.

Nobody ever says "Oh man another classic Les Paul + Marshall plexi. I wish we had some worse guitars to play with."


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center