Dtube Does What?!? Why I Won't Be Using Dtube...For Now

There were some things about Dtube that I didn't know and I had to learn the hard way. 

Today I learned that Dtube takes 25% of your rewards just for posting on their platform. Had I known this, I would have put more thought into making a decision in using the platform. I take full responsibility of my ignorance because I should have done more research before posting.

Why Does Dtube Take 25% Of Rewards

After doing my research today, I do understand why they take 25% of our rewards. In order for Dtube to stay decentralized, they use IPFS which is InterPlanetary File System. This allows for our files, or videos rather, to be distributed in a peer-to-peer system. With this system there are costs to store files hence why Dtube takes 25% of our rewards. 10% of the 25% is used to pay for the long term storage of the files. I believe the other 15% is to improve the platform even though I could not find it written anywhere.

If you want to read up more on Dtube I suggest reading the post below:

Introducing DTube: a decentralized video platform using STEEM and IPFS

Insert From The Post

Why I'm Going To Stop Using Dtube...For Now

I'm A Minnow Trying To Build My Steemit Account

One of my reasons for not using Dtube is because I'm currently a minnow. Have 25% of my rewards taken is counterproductive to me building my Steemit account. My main focus is to produce quality content, build my account and influence so that later I am able to help others do the same.

Right now I'm not in a place where I can help Dtube especially when they have 2,000,000+ of delegated Steem Power

Dtube Issues & Bugs

Another reason is because Dtube can be a bit buggy. There has been a few times when I tried to upload a video repeatedly only to have the same error message pop up over and over. There has also been times when I have tried to watch other people's videos only to have 4 seconds of it play and then freeze.

I am sure that these problems will be worked out as time goes on but to have 25% of my rewards taken and people not be able to watch my video is a bit too much for me.

My Plans & Conclusion

I'm not completely done with Dtube. I may even post more content on there but I will not be boosting any Dtube posts. I plan on getting to a place on Steemit where I can actually delegate some of my own Steem Power to help the platform but now is not the time.

This post is not to bash Dtube anyway but rather to inform and be totally transparent with the people of Steemit. I like the whole idea and concept of Dtube and I want to see the platform prosper but now is just not the right time for me to do so. We have a loooong way before we can actually take on and take out YouTube.

Also check out my video I made on this topic as well

Best of luck to all of you Steemians and Dtube.

Till next time Steemians...Steem On!!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now