"Free Yourself" [Blockchain Music Contest S2: Round 3]


Here is my entry into the 3rd round of the Blockchain Music Contest Season 2!

The theme for this round is genre-based and is "Hardstyle".

Choon: https://choon.co/tracks/0jv5v6pynnp/free-yourself/

Once I again I am finding myself working in an unfamiliar genre and I have to say this was the greatest struggle for me yet. I can't say I have ever made anything all that similar to Hardstyle before and I found this genre to be really different from my typical style.
I almost didn't put this one out [as I wasn't too sure of it the more I listened to it] but I figured since I took the time to make it, and was rocking to it quite heavy while I was putting it together that I should post it anyways.
It's rather simple relying on a main melody utilized in a few lead and piano sounds [mostly coming from an old standard favourite of mine, Nexus].
I noticed one of the real differentiating elements of Hardstyle was how the kick sounded so I tried to create something that was similar to that style, layering two altered kicks together to try to achieve that sound.

I made this song in FL Studio which has been my DAW of choice since early 2006.

Looking forward to listening to all of the different entries/the live show! :)

Cover Art Image Adapted From: https://pixabay.com/photos/travel-yellow-wanderlust-jacket-3528324/



► Listen on DSound

► Listen from source (IPFS)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now