Trevor Petrie "Little bird" feat. @vera.carla


In case you missed my entry for OpenMic Week 72, "Little bird" is a song that I wrote back in 2010 when I was working in Melbourne during the week and returning home to Bendigo each weekend. The song is based on the fleeting visits my fiance (now wife) would make to my apartment. They were never long enough and I always missed her terribly.

Original 'Little Bird' video for OpenMic Week 72

Despite the special place the song has and always will have in my heart, it never seemed to resonate terribly well with audiences at the time. Perhaps that was in part my own insecurities or maybe it just wasn't the right fit for the band I was playing with at the time. So I shelved the song and I hadn't played it in over 5 years.

When I recently started playing my new (borrowed but almost secured) Cole Clark FL2, I revisited some of my back catalog and "Little bird" really resonated with me. Given it was the week of Valentines Day, I decided to give it a run for Open Mic.

Imagine my surprise when the votes and comments started flooding in. It was so unexpected. To then recieve top picks from @passion-ground and @meno and then place 5th overall was like I'd stumbled into a dream.

I didn't think things could possibly get any better for a song that I'd written-off but suddenly seemed to have come of age.

And then @vera.carla contacted me on Discord and told me about how the song had touched her heart and made her sing, in fact she couldn't stop singing it. She had started to build beautiful harmonies and given the song a whole new dimension. Better still she recorded her backing vocals and sent them to me! I was simply blown away. Sometimes you just need another person's perspective to really bring a song to life, and that's exactly what she has done.

So last night, after recording my entry for Open Mic Week 74, I loaded these stunning new vocals into my project and with very little effort, created this beautiful version of a very special song.

I hope you enjoy listening to it as much as I have enjoyed hearing about @vera.carla's journey with the song. You can read more about Car's journey here:

steemit.com/dsound/@vera.carla/20180226t142340549z-my-contribution-to-trevorpetries-song--little-bird

Please visit and upvote her post, her alluring harmonies deserve recognition and I will be forever grateful for her contribution to this song.

@OpenMic is such an incredible community and I'm so glad that I stumbled across it. It is a powerful and remarkable source of energy that is inspiring so many talented people to play, sing, and now even collaborate across the globe.



► Listen on DSound

► Listen from source (IPFS)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center