Right On Brotha: Breakbeats 4 Tha Luv...

This one, it's a great pleasure to share...

The first of my musical productions since nearly a year ago, this feels almost like a crawl out of retirement. And the fun had in the process of putting this together... awww yeah.

The core started back in Bali during the summer of 2016, while spending a week in my buddy's studio. Starting simply with the classic breakbeat loop from African Music Machine's "Black Water Gold" and adding in some phat drums with thickly-layered claps over top, I knew some magic could be made out of this.

Throw in a couple dense bass tones, lush plucks, and some dutch-house-style portamento saw leads... 18 months sitting in the vault, but this was all the beginning.

I'd been inching slowly to get back to producing the last couple months, and having realized the music I've shared via dSound was earning shitloads more than my writing, figured it was time to put the pedal to the metal and monetize the learning process.

Digging up what had come out of those studio sessions, I was testing out the beats with some remix vocal stems I'd found - and this one from Tydi w/Christopher Tin, "Did You Know ft. London Thor" ended up harmonizing quite nicely (despite the original being a trance track, completely different).

Listen to Rok Sivante's "Right On Brotha (Breakbeats 4 Tha Luv)" on dSound

Stumbling my way through, the idea was extracted out into a 2-min jam session, of sorts...

Super playful.

Has that edgy b-boy vibe with the driving breakbeat, the grit and weight of those huge claps... the deep bass swells and hits, balancing out those sparse plucks that have an almost interdimensional resonance to them... adding in those smooth vocals to the symphony... ahhhh.


Screen Shot 2018-02-14 at 4.04.02 PM.png

While I've sometimes struggled bringing tracks through from concept to finished product, this one really was enjoyable all the way through, keeping me engaged and movin' along with the dope beat all the way to the end.

It's a real blessing to have Steemit and dSound as an outlet for sharing this art, and for the opportunity it brings to monetize it.

For 15 years, I put music on the backburner, as there didn't seem a tangible way to pay bills with it. But last month, having seen the rewards roll in with my older stuff I'd posted was kinda mindblowing - realizing that there now is the means to pursue the development of these production skills while getting paid for it.

May the gratitude and love that flowed into this jam abundantly possess your spirit with its uplifting vibes, and your booty to shake like an earthquake.

Much love...

Enjoy!

Listen to Rok Sivante's "Right On Brotha (Breakbeats 4 Tha Luv)" on dSound



H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now