Petra Jordan - I Am Not That (demo/live studio recording)


When I first encountered the Buddhist concept of detachment, I couldn't figure out how do you detach yourself from a thought... So I asked the yoga teacher - and he said "You identify the thought and say 'I am not that'". A light bulb went off in my mind and I wrote this song :)

Over time, however, I realized that "I am that", too! I am everything around me, as I am an expression of the infinite creative power that exists in the universe.

Nevertheless, then and there, this song was born. So enjoy!

I AM NOT THAT

I close my eyes and I see freedom right inside me
I closed the gates to keep old demons out of the bay
Though at times I have gone back to where it haunts me
I really wanna say that now I found the path

I don’t want to race,
Don’t wanna waste time anymore

I am not that
Say to the sadness inside
I am not that
Still got a sparkle in my eye
I am not that
Say to the anger that fries
I am not that
I won’t be consumed by its fires
When I step back
I see myself from the outside
I am not that
I’m not the pain that left scars
I am not that
I am not that
I am not that

I close my eyes
And I can hear my heart pounding
I feel the breath that’s moving
Up and down my spine
I listen to the sound of breathing that revives me
I see the world with a different pair
Of my own eyes

I don’t want to race,
Don’t wanna waste time anymore

I am not that
Say to the sadness inside
I am not that
Still got a sparkle in my eye
I am not that
Say to the anger that fries
I am not that
I won’t be consumed by its fires
When I step back
I see myself from the outside
I am not that
I’m not the pain that left scars
I am not that
I am not that
I am not that

Cool is the air that I breathe
But I still feel the heat of fire
I recognize the power of elements
A man you can fool
But nature is no liar
You can go and fool yourself
But life’s got its ways

I am not that
Say to the sadness inside
I am not that
Still got a sparkle in my eye
I am not that
Say to the anger that fries
I am not that
I won’t be consumed by its fires
When I step back
I see myself from the outside
I am not that
I’m not the pain that left scars
I am not that
I am not that
I am not that

Music and Lyrics: Petra Jordan


► Listen on DSound
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center