Petra Jordan - City at Night (Fortress - EP 2004)


You've heard my live performance of this song but not the fully arranged EP version.

Actually, the Fortress EP was never really released as I was (and sometimes still am) fighting the 'not good enough' demons. I was so afraid of being judged for not being a good enough as a singer, piano player or whatever that I simply didn't dare to release it. Not even making it to the top 10% out of 5000 entries in Unisong International Songwriting Contest (the oldest international songwriting competition judged by songwriters) made a difference about how I felt about myself as an artist.

Having grown up in a critical environment where satisfaction and gratitude was hardly ever a thing to experience, it has marked me for life and even now I have a lot of inner work to do before I dare to release the songs I am working on... which I believe are great actually ;) Oh well, who doesn't fight their inner demons, right?

Anyway, here goes, the studio version of City At Night! Petra back in 2004 ;)

Enjoy!

CITY AT NIGHT

Stuck in an empty street at night
Carried away by the lights
In the city at night
City at night

With no problem for a while
I look for the crowds to get lost in '
Thoughts move in my head
I'm movin' ahead
To where I wanna be now

I found life for now and then
So real it makes me cry
I am loaded with a need
To get more of this unfailing love

I feel free and I'm freezing
I'm diligently lazy
I sing for the stars
Slightly mad and frenzied

And somebody knows
That I'm fragile and strong
Oh, intangible time
In the city at night
And I'm wasting my time

And I saw many strangers
With a myth walking at their side
On the road, running from one star
To another until they drop

And the moon it knows
Though it looks surprised
It's witnessed love making
It's been a witness to the crime
And knee to knee I talked to you in my mind
As I was lost
In the city at night



► Listen on DSound


Follow PETRA JORDAN on all platforms


Soulful pop with jazzy harmonies and philosophy in between the lines

Official Website: www.petrajordanmusic.com


Want Unconditional Basic Income? Sign up for Swift and Manna
https://www.swiftdemand.com/?referred_by=petrajordan

https://www.mannabase.com/?ref=af5537fa10


Sign up TODAY at Musicoin for FREE
and start getting PAYMENTS and TIPS for each playback of your tracks.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center