Petra Jordan - City At Night - DSound Exclusive - (almost a) 1-Take-Deal!


This track is based on my entry to Steemit Open Mic (Week 75). For a better listening experience on DSound, I decided to record an additional vocal take using my condenser mic, rather than using only the audio version of my video recording.

Background Story:

I wrote this song in and about my hometown, Košice, Slovakia, when I was in college and reading Jack Kerouac's "On The Road"... There's actually a line from his book in the song - see if you can identify it ;)

(pssst, don't tell anyone, but the song actually placed in top 10% out of 5000 entries in an international songwriting competition...)

So sit back, sip your wine, your whiskey... dream and let the music transport you into your favorite

CITY AT NIGHT

Stuck in an empty street at night
Carried away by the lights
In the city at night
City at night

With no problem for a while
I look for the crowds to get lost in
Thoughts move in my head
I'm movin' ahead
To where I wanna be now

I found life for now and then
So real it makes me cry
I am loaded with a need
To get more of this unfailing love

I feel free and I'm freezing
I'm diligently lazy
I sing for the stars
Slightly mad and frenzied

And somebody knows
That I'm fragile and strong
Oh, intangible time
In the city at night
And I'm wasting my time

And I saw many strangers
With a myth walking at their side
On the road, running from one star
To another until they drop

And the moon it knows
Though it looks surprised
It's witnessed love making
It's been a witness to the crime
And knee to knee
I talked to you in my mind
As I was lost
In the city at night

Music & Lyrics: Petra Jordan
2018 (c) Petra Jordan


You can also watch "Behind The Scenes" of recording this video :) -

And here's my Open Mic Entry video (recorded with a dynamic mic) - https://steemit.com/openmic/@petrajordan/steemit-open-mic-week-75-city-at-night-original-by-petrajordan

► Listen on DSound

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center