{listen} fourfourfun - all things start



Writing about music and mixing other people's music. These are two things I'm fine with. When it comes to producing, it is a different story.

I'm one to get lost in front of a DAW, churn out a few stems before submitting to interface frustration and disillusionment at being stuck in front of a monitor with a mouse. This is something I'm aiming to resolve in the near future as I slowly piece together a DAWless hardware setup. This does mean that there is a bit of a missing piece in my production history. One that I hope to remedy vaguely soonish once I hit the magic 500SP. Then MANY sounds for you all.

I passed GCSE music back in 1995 with a load of amped up rave tracks, laden with Urban Shakedown samples running through the Amiga 500's exemplary Octamed sample tracker software. A limitation of 1mb of RAM somehow fostered creativity. Those sessions are long gone, bar managing to dig up a small one minute sample from an old school friend recently.

Since that point, nothing. Bar one isolated incident where a short patch of time testing out a VSTi called Absynth, some glitchy beats and samples culled from Freesound actually resulted in a tangible end result.

Geiger counter clicks, staccato glitch, icy IDM shears through dreamy pads and half heard voicemails. 'all things start' was ironic in that it was the end of everything in my production world. Have a rare piece of me, dSound.



► Listen on DSound

► Listen from source (IPFS)

photography by myself, waiting for a train at Stalybridge train station

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now