Amplitude Problem - Computer Corner



My tribute to the greatest 1980s computer store there ever was, Computer Corner in Malmö, Sweden. The store, Peter Christensen and Johan Fristedt (the owners), and the friends I made through it probably saved my life.

I wrote my very first commercial piece of software for this store at age 12. It was a very simple Computer Corner logo moving up and down the screen while changing colors. It ran on an Atari 130XE hooked up to a tv in a display window. At night, when it was closed, I'd sometimes walk to the store to see my code running in the window. I was amazed that anyone would put something I created on display, and it changed my outlook on life.

This song features verses that sound both sentimental and reflective of my down mood back then when not in the computer store hacking away. The chorus is all about stepping in through the front door of Computer Corner and planting my ass in front of an Atari ST for 48 hours of hacking fueled by Coke and Twix. (Or "a Twix and a toothbrush", as Peter called that combo.) Fun fact: Twix was called "Raider" in Sweden at the time.

Peter went back into the source code of life, as YTCracker would say, way too early and before I had said what needed to be said. He will never hear this song nor read this text, but I forever owe him.

amplitudeproblem.com/bluebotsdots



► Listen on DSound

► Listen from source (IPFS)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center