Drumheller Trip 2017

Drumheller! Ever been there?

IMG_3360.JPG

It's a tucked away little place in Alberta Canada where they've found many dinosaur fossils!

IMG_3356.JPG

This was my first time there, even after living in Alberta 12 years I hadn't ever made the trip down. We left for just the weekend, heading out early(ish) Saturday morning. It's about a three hour drive so we got there just after noon.

IMG_3363.JPG

Driving into Drumheller is like nothing I've ever experienced. You're driving along the prairies, dessicated wheat fields and corn fields as far as the eye can see, then the road takes a curve and starts to plunge down, down, down into a valley and suddenly, it's like you're in a totally different land!

IMG_3359.JPG

The hills look SO cool!!! It looks like dinosaurs STILL live there! LoL

AND! They even have actual cactus growing there! Just out in the wild! It's amazing!

IMG_3365.JPG

So cool! :)

IMG_2697.JPG

We visited the museum, my kids are maybe still too young for that, they were pretty bored most of the time and one fell asleep, too young to really understand how cool it is to see real dinosaur fossils!

IMG_3373.JPG

IMG_3370.JPG

IMG_3372.JPG

I think they liked climbing around the rocks and hills at the hoodoos better.
(I did too! LoL)

IMG_3357.JPG

IMG_3358.JPG

We also took a walk up 1000 stairs to the top of the world's largest dinosaur!

IMG_3369.JPG

I was chasing my oldest kid, just trying to keep up as he raced up the stairs inside the beast, not really thinking much about it.

IMG_3374.JPG

Then. We got to the top and there we were, in the dinosaurs mouth and then my fear of heights kicked in! I could feel the damn thing shaking and swaying as other people climbed the stairs below.

IMG_3366.JPG

IMG_3367.JPG

I couldn't bring myself to go out on the deck of the Dino mouth for the life of me! I stayed cowered at the top of the stairs until my husband came with my other kid and they all went out to 'enjoy' the view. I shrank back further as more people arrived at the top. LoL

NEVER AGAIN!! Haha

But I would travel back to Drumheller again for sure. It was such a cool place and a great place to spend a weekend! :)

IMG_3364.JPG

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center