Triggered - Drop in the Ocean Nostalgia.



I have the meaning of the word Nostalgia open in another tab. It seems to me there is a conspiracy at the meanings place. They tend to confuse me even more once I read it, making me doubt I ever knew the meaning of anything.

I call for a petition that all words require 2 hours explanations using cartoons with ample examples.

NOS

I googled nos. and expected at least a result for Nitrous but got something even better.

Not otherwise specified
Abbreviation. NOS. (medical diagnosis) Not otherwise specified.

What does that even mean?

Well. My dear reader, I will be delaying that revelation with a few words saying that this broadcast of information has temporarily been interrupted. As my brain sends signals to all recesses and informs the cells that recess is over and it is time to get back to work.

The consequences are dire and they are all fired unless they start firing and making those connections subsequently disconnected by a digression in the flow of thought.



The smell of strawberry scent,
a time with roommates all female spent.

An orange tree, in the front yard I see.
Years ago. a Child, a makeshift family home.

Bikes for Christmas and visits from parents.
Moments of "happiness", a break from rejection.

Awards at school, a Goal at the game.
Simple moments of joy and pride.

TV time, on the floor I watch in silence.
Pray nothing interrupts the peaceful quiet.


The smell of strawberry scent,
working only to squander every scent.

An orange tree, in the front yard I see.
Avoiding indoors because there they will be.

Bikes for Christmas and visits from parents.
Wave goodbye as they return to their own lives.

Awards at school, a Goal at the game.
To be kept quiet incase attention be gained.

TV time, on the floor I watch in silence.
Pray nothing interrupts the peaceful quiet.



Not Otherwise specified
Unless I say it is not then it is

I think it is agreed upon that nostalgia is something that gets triggered, either willingly or by accident. The definition uses the word longing for one, in their attempt to convey meaning without cartoons. I had the same thought and once you have longing and feeling in the mix then I have to ask are you drunk?

Not all positive or is that negative. See this is why they need to explain these things better. Here is what I think based on reference through inference, my words hopefully able to imply my meaning without getting lost in a sea of thoughts unrelated to my current activity.

I gotta do that shite, without confuckulation the fact that I have no clue what to say will be sorely evident.


****************************************


No matter what triggers the memory or unexplained feeling, what I recollect or have assigned as something to represent a moment in time may or may not hold significance to the broader situation I found myself in at that specific moment.

A scene without sound a vague recollection of a time I thought forgotten, only to be slammed by a snicker and a tear as I remember the moment after, that warm feeling of nostalgia now still nostalgia but remembrance.

Memories are fickle beasts and tame them as I wish my nature is to remember the parts which seemed to have not been the least. The moments of silence, before a storm. Calm. Freedom.

A counter to my current existence in every form. I dare not peer beyond the veil of fog which the memories cast, old movies I enjoy as they invoke nostalgia not of a moment but of a single sensation, simple and understood an echo from the past.






Cover Image Background - Pixabay

We all grow together


BuddyUp Avatar

Drop in the Ocean is our BuddyUp community show that we have each week in our BuddyUp Discord, a word gets chosen and we create something to share during the show based off of that word.

This weeks word is Nostalgia.

Previous words we have covered:

CONNECTION, TRANSPARENCY, ENCOURAGEMENT, CONTEXT, EXPECTATION, DEDICATION, CREATIVITY, PRIDE, HUMILITY, COMMUNICATION, HUMOUR, CHANGE, FEAR, DISCOVERY, COOPERATION, LOVE, FUN, SUCCESS, LIBERATE, GOALS, BRAVERY, DESIRE, CONTINUATION, COINCIDENCE, OPINIONS, CRITICAL THINKING, DIGRESSION, ASTONISH, PERCEPTION, LUCIDITY, IDENTITY , PATTERNS , VALIDATION, NOSTALGIA
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center