The Men - an oil painting

The-Men-detail.jpg
This painting, from my Reunion Island series, shows some of the traditional skills of the men of the island: cutting sugar cane, building a "case", carrying produce to the market, collecting and cutting open a coconut.

In this series of paintings, I concentrated on the intensity of light and color on the island. Curiously, the sky was often both cloudy and sunny at the same time, and this made colors particularly intense and fragmented the light in a very graphic fashion. I enjoyed putting the patterns of light in my compositions.

The life in villages there reminded me of life on my grandmother's farm, where we were close to the land and quite autonomous. We, as they, had gardens for food and farm animals. A life style that had a certain charm and created within me a love for the countryside.
The-Men-detail2.jpg

The-Men-detail3.jpg

The-Men.jpg

Hope you enjoyed the post.

My website: www.kathleenscarboro.fr

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now