A Corridor in Time: The I & M Canal - Channahon Lock. A mural painting.

corridorIM.jpg
Acrylic on concrete; 17'H x 14' W 4 x 5 meters

These two relatively small murals are integrated into the limestone walls of the Bi-Centennial park in Joliet Illinois. They are part of the series of historical murals painted by our association - FCPA. I designed and painted them with the help of assistants.

The Illinois and Michigan Canal, opened in 1848 and closed in 1933, connected the Great Lakes to the Mississippi River and the Gulf of Mexico. Towpaths on each edge of the canal allowed mules harnessed to the barges to pull them along. Canals were the highways of the day; today the I & M Canal has been converted into a bike trail and park. I often walk there when visiting. The towpath is still there, full of wildlife (rabbits, dear, coyotes, frogs, turtles, egrets and more), and you can walk peacefully for hours.

Corridor.jpg

How the canal looks today:
I&M-Canal---Main---1.jpg
http://www.heritagecorridorcvb.com/IM-Canal

Thank you for checking out my post; upvotes, resteems, and comments are always welcome.

My website: www.kathleenscarboro.fr

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now