Kula Maui Sunset - Photography through the Vog!

Tonight I decided to take the drone out for a quick evening flight through the thick Vog and clouds to view the sunset from above.

02-13-18-drone-sunset.png

Drone Photography by Nick Thompson View Large image here.

The flight started out routine, I launched the drone from my deck and headed for the sky! It was all cloudy so I had to go straight up at least 200 Meters until I came to an opening in the clouds for me to see!

Screen Shot 2018-02-13 at 8.38.40 PM.png

Screen Shot 2018-02-13 at 8.16.51 PM.png

It was a fun flight weaving through the clouds until at one point I went through a cloud tunnel and totally lost conection with the drone! My heart started to beat faster, I was getting the lost drone rush again, I had my fix but now it was foggy and I had to find it! I pressed RTH return to home, however for the first time ever I was so far gone not even the RTH function was working. If i was not healthy I probably would have had a heart attack, all I could do is walk in the direction of where I thought it was hovering in the clouds. Luckily I kept my head and as I walked down the back yard until I got a green flash on my remote. As soon a I found the signal I pressed RTH and it came home to me! It was a freaky little flight but we made it back in one piece, for that I am thankful to the wonderful programmers at DJI!

Screen Shot 2018-02-13 at 8.16.10 PM.png

If you like this post please upvote, resteem, comment, and follow me @honusurf for more!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center