RE: RE: The Thinker's Corner : Apologizing.
You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Thinker's Corner : Apologizing.

RE: The Thinker's Corner : Apologizing.

In Nigeria, there is a very popular saying that we refer to as "African Time". This means that if an event is meant to start at 2pm, those who flow with "African Time lifestyle" show up for it by 3pm.

It has become such a popular lifestyle to the point where hosts of events say an event is by 10am but they hold back from kicking things off until an hour later.

Now, anyone who tries to work at the right time is seen as weird. However, I had some fallout with a Youth organization last year because of this African Time pattern. My time is very precious and I don't ever enjoy being late for an occasion. However, if I schedule an hour for an event and notice that everyone is trying to work with an African Time, once I exhaust the time I scheduled for it, I stand and exit the event.

The youths of my parish didn't enjoy it when I did that last year and I didn't bat an eyelid. We have another meeting coming up this Sunday and I can't wait to see if they still want to start this New Year with their latecoming lifestyle.

Thanks so much for joining us in this edition of our challenge.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center