How to Draw an Australian Woodland Scene - Art and Drawing Process

Hello Steemers

I'm in Australia at the moment and I'm inspired by the gum tree forests that are in the area I am staying. The other day I was taking photos of the gum trees, paperbarks and sheoaks that are growing around Lake Macquarie where I am staying.

I was thinking I may do a Australian woodland scene featuring gum trees and paperbarks so last night I was at my sketchbook drawing a sketch for a potential painting.

Here is my final sketch and I'll show you the process.

Gum Trees and Paperbarks, 15cm x 25cm, graphite on paper.

This is one of the reference photos I used, the scene was already a naturally good composition so I didn't need to do too much alteration however I always stick to a composition check list to make sure that it is engaging to the viewer.

Whenever I sketch landscapes for potential paintings I always think about the tonality of the drawing so I can create depth and and a feeling of space within the sketch. I use five different graphite pencils which include 4H, 2H, HB, 2B and 4B. 

I use hard pencils such as 4H and 2H for distant objects as the pencil mark is tonally lighter and for dark tones and shadows I use softer pencils such as 2B and 4B and I'd use these pencils to shade in objects in the foreground.

I sharpen my pencils with a craft knife so that the graphite is at a right angle, this way I can achieve broad marks and I can turn the pencil in the opposite direction to create fine marks.

I work out a few compositional guidelines and I sketch out the scene using a 4H pencil making light pencil marks.

Once the drawing outline is complete I start with the background forest in the distance, I want this to recede in the drawing so these trees must be tonally lighter than the trees in the foreground so I use only my hard pencils (4H and 2H).

I start filling in the detail of the trees in the mid ground which will also serve as a focal point for the drawing (and the painting if I decide to paint this). I use a HB pencil for the darker marks but nothing softer than this pencil, I don't want these trees to come too far forward in the drawing.

I sketch the gum tree in the foreground and this is where I can use my full tonal range and therefore all my pencils if I so wish. I use a 4B pencil for the darkest values of the tree trunks as darks are at their darkest in the foreground.

Next I start shading in the mid ground foliage of the paperbark trees, I'm using an HB pencil for this as again I don't want the foliage to jump forward in the drawing. This is where the broad marks from the angle I sharpened my pencils really works.

The drawing is starting to take form and I begin working on the paperbark trees on the foreground on the right side of the painting, I have moved the tree back a little so the two trees aren't on the same level which would cause a distraction in the composition. Again I am using 2B and 4B pencils for the shadow marks as they are tonally darker and I can use my darkest darks in the foreground. This helps to create the perspective and depth within the drawing.

I complete my drawing by adding in the rest of the foliage that is in the foreground and I am using my softest pencils 2B and 4B to create dark leaves that are in shadow.

I add a few more refinements to the grass and tree forms in general and with that the drawing is complete.

I hope you enjoyed my blog post, check out my website for more of my art: samuelearp.com

Subscribe to my mailing list for news, new paintings and art tips and receive a FREE digital art print download of one of my seascape paintings suitable for printing an image of any size: https://www.samuelearp.com/subscribe/

Check out my other Steemit post on painting trees outdoors 'en plein air':

https://steemit.com/art/@samuel-earp-art/evening-outdoor-paint-on-lake-macquarie-australia-art-and-photography

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center